Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky multiroom

    This is a discussion on Sky multiroom within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I rang sky earlier to ask about sky multiroom, i said i just wanted the standard sky box, first he ...

    1. #1
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky multiroom

      I rang sky earlier to ask about sky multiroom, i said i just wanted the standard sky box, first he got confused when the system said it would cost 100, after 10 minutes of him asking colleagues and messing about with the system, he told me i would have to pay 60 a installation fee for the standard box? Is this right? He also told me self-install is not possible on the standard box. (?)

      I currently have a Sky+ Box and all the packs including both movies and both sports. Is there anyway i would be able to get it installed cheaply or even free?

      2nd question, after the installation and only the 10 a month i will definitely be able to watch a different channel to the main box?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      The boxes work independently on the same feed so yes you can watch different channels on the boxes, it's not like sharing a feed from the back of a box you are sharing the dish feed itself.

    4. #3
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      Hmm thought so, can you answer my question about the installation fee? Is there anyway i would be able to get this free? As 60 is a awful lot for them to connect a few wires to an existing set-up.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      The engineer will also be putting a new LNB on your dish so that you can feed 2 boxes, unless you already have a quad LNB (doubtful) you will need the engineer visit. Also the boxes will then have to be connected to the telephone line.

    6. #5
      lindley010's Avatar
      lindley010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01302
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      Hmm okay, thanks.

    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      Quote Originally Posted by lindley010 View Post
      I currently have a Sky+ Box and all the packs including both movies and both sports. Is there anyway i would be able to get it (multiroom) installed cheaply or even free?
      Yes. Since you already have a quad-output LNB on your dish, all you need to do is connect another coaxial cable from a spare output on the LNB to a second Sky Digibox (which you can buy off eBay or through your local paper for no more than 20). Make sure it gets you all the free channels.

      You then contact Sky and ask for a multiroom card. They may ask you for numbers off the Information screen of your second Digibox.

      I'm not sure if they send a contract to sign or simply post you the multiroom card but, whichever way, you should receive the card through the post, stick it in your second Digibox, then phone Sky and ask for it to be activated.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky multiroom

      Just check and be sure you have two spare outputs on your LNB there is a chance depending on how old the setup is that it could be a twin LNB.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION