Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    HDMI audio problem

    This is a discussion on HDMI audio problem within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My Sky+ HD box is connected via HDMI to a sony receiver, and then on via HDMI to a Sony ...

    1. #1
      NorthCape's Avatar
      NorthCape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: london
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HDMI audio problem

      My Sky+ HD box is connected via HDMI to a sony receiver, and then on via HDMI to a Sony TV. Everything has worked fine for over a year now. Got up the other morning to find I had no sound, not just from Sky, but from anything connected to the receiver.
      Initial thoughts were of course that the receiver was at fault, so extensively tested every speaker and input/output connection. Problem remained.
      Turned out that everything works fine until the Sky box is connected to the receiver via the HDMI cable. Tested again, using different cables and different sockets on the receiver etc; no difference.
      So it seems that something has gone wrong with the HDMI output from the Sky+ HD box (Samsung.)

      Anyone else experienced this, or can shed any light on the problem? All answers gratefully received.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      What happens when you connect the Sky box directly to the TV with the HDMI cable?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Try switching off HDMI pass through if your amp has it.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Have you tried a complete reboot of the Sky box?

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      HMDI carries both audio and video:

      HDMI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      On Sky it only carries Dolby 2.0 and not 5.1

      EDIT - this post no-longer makes sense as the previous post has been changed

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      EDIT - this post no-longer makes sense as the previous post has been changed
      Just to give a bit of support, if HDMI did not carry audio I would be watching silent movies all the time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      NorthCape's Avatar
      NorthCape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: london
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Try switching off HDMI pass through if your amp has it.

      It doesn't have it unfortunately.

    9. #8
      NorthCape's Avatar
      NorthCape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: london
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      Have you tried a complete reboot of the Sky box?

      Yep, no difference I'm afraid.

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Oh well. I was having trouble with sky via the RF2 and found tht HDMI pass through on the amp was causing the problem.

      Not sure what to suggest now. Sorry.

    11. #10
      NorthCape's Avatar
      NorthCape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: london
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI audio problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What happens when you connect the Sky box directly to the TV with the HDMI cable?

      Same problem - no sound. That is to say no sound from TV, and STILL all other sound inputs from receiver blocked! No sound at all, whatever I connect the Sky+ HD box's HDMI cable to.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION