Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

    This is a discussion on Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed. within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, Hopefully someone will be able to assist me with an issue i have with my Sky HD box. Recently ...

    1. #1
      Discodunc's Avatar
      Discodunc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01453
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      Hello,

      Hopefully someone will be able to assist me with an issue i have with my Sky HD box.

      Recently i am having to reset my shy hd box regularly, sometimes twice a week as it seems to crash and give no signal or black screen.

      A reset seems to resolve it but sometimes i have to leave it unplugged for an hour or so and then it comes back to life?

      I have tried to do a sky+ rebuild with Services 0 0 1 7, but this doesn't seem to work.

      Box details are;

      Manufacturer:Thomson
      Model Number 902020
      Version no: 4E3011
      OS Ver: 1.32B12
      EPG Ver: sky+8.3.2

      Does anyone have any advice or experienced this problem, it would be greatly appreciated and get the wife off my back as it appears to be my fault some how!!

      Thank you
      Disco


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      Have you had the PSU refurbed by Satcure? If not then that is the first thing to do as a Thomson without a refurbed PSU is a ticking time bomb to any number of problems including the ones your experiencing.
      Satcure Thomson PSU Page

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      As above. Also, it could be overheating. Move it to an open space if not already there. These Thomsons have two fans, and need cool air to function properly. Mine is on an open shelf and is raised around 1" off the shelf for cool air to circulate properly through the box. I thoroughly recommend the Satcure upgrade route ( and upgrade the hard drive whilst you're at it). If you're not fussed about keeping the box, give Sky a call.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      I have tried to do a sky+ rebuild with Services 0 0 1 7, but this doesn't seem to work.
      You are pressing Settings - 0.0.1 - then press Select then 7 (or scroll along to +rebuild)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Discodunc's Avatar
      Discodunc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01453
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      Thanks for all the help and advice guys, really good stuff I will try moving the unit first and then the PSU.

      Thanks again.
      Disco

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky HD box crashing and not recording, reset needed.

      Either way I would still inspect the capacitors on the PSU, if *any* of them are bulging then it needs a PSU refurbishment.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION