Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

    This is a discussion on Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I know how to connect the lead from the sky box in the living room to the TV in the ...

    1. #1
      zebredy's Avatar
      zebredy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      I know how to connect the lead from the sky box in the living room to the TV in the bedroom through a whole in the wall (I live in a flat) and how to use the magic eye but...

      (Hope this makes sense?)

      There is only one aerial socket in our flat and its in the living-room. I used a splitter to have an aerial lead going into the TV in the living-room and also to the BTVision box in the bedroom, where I have another lead going from the BTV box too the aerial socket on the TV so can use the BTVision box in bedroom and also TVs built in freeview. All works fine with no trouble.

      Anyway I have Sky connected up in the living-room, but I want to view it in the back room as well as still being able to use the BTV box and the TVs built in freeview, is there anyway of doing this without using some sort of splitter connected to the aerial socket on the back of the bedroom TV? Like can I use different type of leads or something to connect something to the TV in the back room another way?

      Failing this, I can move the BTV box back to the living-room but I still want to be able to use the freeview on the bedroom telly while sky or other things are also plugged into the telly as well, as main reason I can't have sky+ yet where I live, so can only record one channel on sky and can't change channels while its recording, so I use the TVs built in freeview when I want to watch other channels...

      Again hope this all makes sense, and that someone can help me out there.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      It doesnt make an awful lot of sense but i'll try to give you an idea of how to do this.
      What you should have is:
      Aerial Point In Living Room -> Connected by cable to RF "IN" on SKY Box
      RF Out 1 On Sky Box --> Connected by cable to Living Room TV
      RF Out 2 On Sky Box --> Connected to by cable to a Distribution Amp
      Distribution Amp Output 1 --> Connected To A Cable going to the BT Vision Box in Bedroom
      Distribution Amp Output 2 --> Connected To A Cable going to the backroom

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      zebredy's Avatar
      zebredy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      It doesnt make an awful lot of sense but i'll try to give you an idea of how to do this.
      What you should have is:
      Aerial Point In Living Room -> Connected by cable to RF "IN" on SKY Box
      RF Out 1 On Sky Box --> Connected by cable to Living Room TV
      RF Out 2 On Sky Box --> Connected to by cable to a Distribution Amp
      Distribution Amp Output 1 --> Connected To A Cable going to the BT Vision Box in Bedroom
      Distribution Amp Output 2 --> Connected To A Cable going to the backroom
      Kinda does I see where you are going (I think) but Im not sure about the distribution amp.. Thanks anyway.

    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,617
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      This is the sort of thing you need:
      SLX 4-Way Distribution Amp

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      zebredy's Avatar
      zebredy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      This is the sort of thing you need:
      SLX 4-Way Distribution Amp
      Ok cool, makes a bit more sense now.

      Looks similar to the 4 way aerial splitter I have only it has one socket for the main aerial lead to go in, hmm have to think about this...

      Thanks again for your reply, I do understand where your going, but don't think its quite what I'm after doing...

    7. #6
      Scooby_Doo's Avatar
      Scooby_Doo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMNUN - Nuneaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Please help - One aerial socket on TV two things I want in it

      OK, lets see if I've got what you need in my head..

      The Aerial point in the lounge goes directly to RF 'IN' on SKY box (remove the splitter)

      RF1 out (plus scart if used/required) goes to lounge TV

      Cable that was in the original splitter going to the bedroom now goes into RF2 out on the SKY box
      This will carry the analogue TV + Freeview + now the SKY signal aswell

      I think that gives you what you want..

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION