Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

    This is a discussion on Can I remove the HDD and still use the box within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have just had a 1TB box fitted and now have a spare Sky +HD box. I have it fitted ...

    1. #1
      greyseal's Avatar
      greyseal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      I have just had a 1TB box fitted and now have a spare Sky +HD box.
      I have it fitted in my kitchen and am using a 20 one off payment card which allows me to receive all the free channels plus C5 and SKY3 amongst others.
      The trouble is the humming noise from the HDD.
      As I only have the basic subscription on this box and don't want to pay any extra for another SKY + subscription, there seems to be no reason to have a disc drive whirring away in the box.
      Can I remove the drive and still use the basic viewing function of the box?
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Make sure that the box is fully up-to-date (unplug box, hold backup plug box back in whilst holding backup until all lights come on and wait 10-20mins). Then once that is done you can simply unplug the hard drive inside. If you attempt to make any recordings then you will get "System Fault SKY+ Recording and Playback are Unavailable".

      This wasnt always possible until they upgraded the software which is why you should perform the update to ensure you have the latest version first!

    4. #3
      greyseal's Avatar
      greyseal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Thanks
      Will give it a try

    5. #4
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Failing that, just turn the instant rewind off.

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Unless things have recently changed, the box won't initialise without a hard drive fitted.

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      The update was a good long while ago now that the hard drive isnt required to startup the box anymore.

    8. #7
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      no sorry you cant unplug the hdd inside ..
      as the sky hd box needs to update its epg guild which is don by the hdd to store info ..

      what you can do is ..open the box up blast it with a can off compress air .if any dust is in there

      also in the settings turn off anytime tv ..turn off instand rewind

      hope that helps
      samsung sky hd 973004(upgraded 500gb) also pace sky hd 9F3004. fitted with a 65cm triax solid dish.
      SAMSUNG PS50B450 50" plasma tv.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html check this out if our havin probelms

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Jason no you can unplug the hard drive without any adverse effects. I have done so on my Thomson SKY HD (albeit by accident) and the box still functioned fine bar recording and SKY+ functions.
      Please check your facts before posting inaccurate info in future, particularly if you havent recently tried to do it personally.

    10. #9
      greyseal's Avatar
      greyseal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      Thanks for the replies.
      I updated the system then removed the HDD connectors (power and data).
      The box wouldn't start up.
      I eventually had to re-connect it.
      It seems that some people have managed to remove the HDD and some haven't.
      I'm one of the haven'ts.
      Cheers

    11. #10
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Can I remove the HDD and still use the box

      I think it's possible to remove the power to the HDD once the box has started, but I don't think there are many boxes that will start without a drive connected.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION