Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Moving

    This is a discussion on Moving within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi all, I'm new to this forum so please excuse me if i have posted this in the wrong place. ...

    1. #1
      donewalking's Avatar
      donewalking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: only TV
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving

      Hi all,
      I'm new to this forum so please excuse me if i have posted this in the wrong place.
      I'm moving in 2 weeks, would you recommend i take my Sky dish with me, i know there is one there but i know my LNB works. Im on Freesat with extra channels from sky


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Have you told Sky you are moving? They need to make changes on your account etc. Messing with the dish is ok as long as you are sure you can put it up and align it properly again. Even changing the LNB can move the dish slightly and cause issues.

    4. #3
      donewalking's Avatar
      donewalking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: only TV
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Hi PaulSky,
      Thanks for the reply.
      Not told them yet, they only need change of address for contact don't they ? If i take the dish off & leave the wall bracket & do the same at the other end and just replace the dish i shouldn't have much of a problem aligning should i ? can't you get hold of a meter to alinine the dish ?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Alignment isn't always easy and you only have to be slightly off to miss a proper signal alignment. Up to you if you want to take the risk but end of day you would only need to call in a satellite installer if it isn't quite right.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Unless your dish is gold plated or something, there is no need to take it with you. If the dish in your new house is not up to the job, Sky will either fix it or replace it. There is no need for you to do anything other than notify the 'moving team'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      donewalking's Avatar
      donewalking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: only TV
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving

      I was under the impression that this was an independent site to Sky. From the way i am reading things (i might be wrong) the advice i have had is call Sky and pay them to check out the dish.
      I thought that the advice i would get is "this is the easy way to do", "it try this way", "if you do this and do that", "you can hire a meter from such & such"
      Thanks to all that replied to my question.

    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Moving

      I think they're trying to save you some hassle. TBH, there's not much point dismantling your own dish ( unless it's fairly new ), carting it over to the new place, dismantling the one there, setting up, aligning and metering the new one, and then fretting over why you are missing half your signals because you're not precisely aligned for the Astra satellites and Eurobird. There's lots of info on the net of course, but it can be a bit of a challenge if you've not done it before.

      A couple of links to get you in the mood:

      Installing a Dish

      and:

      Installing sky minidish movie for download
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #8
      donewalking's Avatar
      donewalking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: only TV
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Hi Kenedin,
      Thank you very much for your reply ,
      This is the first i have had with any proper info on what and why.
      Again thanks for your reply.
      All the best.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Moving

      If you are moving house you will have to inform Sky as your phone line as well as your address will be changing. If you want to take the dish with you that is entirely up to you. You can even go to the extent of buying a satfinder meter too, they are not that expensive. PULSAT.COM - MINI-SAT METER - SATELLITE TV SIGNAL METERS You will need one to set the dish properly as the least deviation from the correct line will cause problems.

      All we were pointing out is that if you use the existing dish Sky will do it for you, we like to tell members the easiest way. If the existing dish has not been disturbed it may just be a case of plugging in the cables.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      donewalking's Avatar
      donewalking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: only TV
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving

      Hi Isitme,
      Thanks for the reply & for explaining to me the reason why.
      As you say Sky might be the best way.
      Thanks
      donewalking

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION