Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

    This is a discussion on Sky TV link not working with new digital TV within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I've just bought a new 19" Panasonic TV. I set it up in my bedroom upstairs carried out the ...

    1. #1
      Kask's Avatar
      Kask is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      Hi,

      I've just bought a new 19" Panasonic TV. I set it up in my bedroom upstairs carried out the tuning and it received all the digital channels with no problem. I also have connected a Sky TV link adapter to operate my sky box from upstairs and now I can't tune this in.

      I tried tuning the analogue option on the TV but it went from channel 21 to 63 and didn't pick up my sky channel. My box is linked from downstairs via the RF2 socket which attaches into the link then into the TV.

      The link still works fine on my old analogue TV (Channel 7 is still tuned fine, of course all the other channels have gone now)

      Is there something obvious I'm missing or can I not now use the sky tv link equipment with the new digital tv's! That's a bit annoying if not, as does that mean the only way I could watch my sky on a new digital TV is to get sky multiroom costing me more money a month!

      Any help would be great - thanks!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      Check what RF channel the box is outputting on, by default it's normally 68 or 69, then manually tune the tv into it.

    4. #3
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      Hmmmm. My new Samsung Digi telly picked up Sky OK on analogue channel 68 straight out of the box!
      Can't imagine it's your telly but 21 to 63 doesn't seem right. As red says above, Sky default is 68 or 69. If your telly only goes to 63 then retune Sky RF2 to something within the telly's range!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    5. #4
      Kask's Avatar
      Kask is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      Thanks for the help guys! Just looked at my sky set up and can't seem to find where the RF2 set details are so I can check the channel number and maybe change it. Do you know where I can find this info?

    6. #5
      Kask's Avatar
      Kask is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      It's OK, I've found the menu now, I'll have a go at retuning tomorrow, hopefully it will work now. Thanks again for your help, that's great!

    7. #6
      Kask's Avatar
      Kask is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      All working fine now. Thanks everyone for their help.

    8. #7
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky TV link not working with new digital TV

      Sorted?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION