Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    No Satellite signal is being received?

    This is a discussion on No Satellite signal is being received? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, This is coming up on our sky tonight does anyone else have the same problem? we are in the ...

    1. #1
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Satellite signal is being received?

      Hi,

      This is coming up on our sky tonight does anyone else have the same problem?

      we are in the Bristol area

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mm23's Avatar
      mm23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      i have been getting a message similar since Sat night but mine has been "no signal switch off sky at the wall for 1 minute", i do this and there is still no signal and i have to keep pressing the button on the sky+ box for another couple of minutes, i thought it was maybe something wrong with the sky+ box as its not all the channels its just one at a time and i can see the rest including sky channels? i am in Scotland

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      Quote Originally Posted by BruceT5 View Post
      Hi,

      This is coming up on our sky tonight does anyone else have the same problem?

      we are in the Bristol area

      Thanks
      I had this for a couple of minutes around the same time as you, I had put it down to the weather as its horrible here.


    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      That error i.e. "No Sat Signal being recieved" is normally a local problem with your box or dish, or as above can also be poor weather, heavy rain or storms. I dont think its ever been known "as yet" for the satelitte to actually stop transmitting a signal, if it doe's I guess we all have big problems I mean they can hardly send an engineer to fix it can they

    6. #5
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      The message in top box is 29.

      Still no signal being recieved this morning on Signal 1 or 2 and says not locked.

      The message also says to turn off at the wall for 1 min, done this numerious times and reset the LNB and restored default settings...

      Wonder if the wind has blown the dish?

    7. #6
      Bighugh's Avatar
      Bighugh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      You need an engineer!!! or someone to look at it?

    8. #7
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      If its not working tonight I think I shall indeed need to Ring sky...and then go through all 'troubleshooting' ive done already lol... Then an engineer will want to visit and I cant get time of work... Fun fun fun

    9. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      Quote Originally Posted by BruceT5 View Post
      The message in top box is 29.

      Still no signal being recieved this morning on Signal 1 or 2 and says not locked.

      The message also says to turn off at the wall for 1 min, done this numerious times and reset the LNB and restored default settings...

      Wonder if the wind has blown the dish?
      No Satellite Signal 29 usually means that the Default Transponder is not being seen correctly ( Inputs not locked ) , usually because of a dish/LNB or cable problem. The wind may indeed have moved your dish, or the LNB is failing, or there's water somewhere in the system. How old is your Sky dish etc? You've done most things to recover the situation - reboots, reset LNB etc. Try switching off the box, unplug at the mains, then disconnect Inputs 1 & 2 at the back of the box. Leave for 5 minutes then reconnect everything and reboot. If still problematic, reset the Default Transponder in the Installers Setup.

      Failing all of that you'll have to get Sky out and have a look.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    10. #9
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      Rang up Sky...

      Went through rebooting the box and LNB restart and restore defaults etc.

      She said we need an Engineer....

      EARLIEST IS NEXT WEDNESDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

      A week with no Sky, WHAT SO EVER.

      I moaned and got the usual 'You should of reported it sooner'

      I said, It was blowing a gail last night and terrential rain, I read on your website about No Sat Signal because of bad weather so I left it till it subsided.

      Bla bla etc.

      So, we now have no sky tv!

      Re how old is the dish... Not sure... its a 'mini-dish' type but we rent and was here when we moved in last year. It 'Looks' in ok condtion but who knows. I do suspect the dish as moved slightly.

      I am utterly disgusted though, 7 days for an engineer to visit with no Sky Tv.

      Very poor... shame we cant get Virgin Cable in this area!

      Good job our box was installed on 2nd Dec 08 so its covered... only just though!

      Very dis-satisfied Sky Customer.

      No sympathy on the phone either and she ended the call 'Hope you enjoy the rest of your evening Bruce' I nearly said 'What? WIthout Sky TV?' but I bit my tongue.

      I think she sensed my dis-pleasure with my tone.

    11. #10
      RobinKidderminster's Avatar
      RobinKidderminster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01562
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite signal is being received?

      I've tried everything to stop the no signal issue. Short of calling out for a new box. Disabling Anytime seems to have solved it. Surely Sky know about this one. Why dont they tell us ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION