Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

    This is a discussion on Sky+ distribution (magic eye) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi I am currently thinking of cancelling my Sky multiroom subscription as we only use the second sky box for ...

    1. #1
      5chulzy's Avatar
      5chulzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstairs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Broadstairs
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      Hi I am currently thinking of cancelling my Sky multiroom subscription as we only use the second sky box for watching tv in bed.

      Now I was thinking of getting one of those magic eyes, and have a few questions.

      1 - Aswell as the coaxial cable would it be worth running a scart cable up to the bedroom aswell, connected to the main scart output on the Sky+ box via a splitter box?
      2 - Will the magic eye still work with both scart and coaxial connected to the second tv?
      3 - Is there any benifits of scart over coaxial?
      4 - Will I be able to use the Sky+ features upstairs (pause rewind etc)?

      Any help kindly appreciated

      5chulzy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      Answers....

      1. Yes you can, but I hope you realise just how many wires there are in a Scart cable. Finding the right cable and joining it will be a challenge.

      2. Yes it will.

      3. Yes, the picture will be clearer, and you'll get stereo sound.

      4. Yes, as long as you have a magic eye.

    4. #3
      5chulzy's Avatar
      5chulzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstairs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Broadstairs
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      thanks nick, will be goin ahead with this now.

      just a few more

      will I be able to connect the second tv to the vcr scart on the sky+ box?

      the cable length needed is 10m, will this affect the picture quality?
      Last edited by 5chulzy; 12-11-09 at 11:05 AM.

    5. #4
      5chulzy's Avatar
      5chulzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstairs
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Broadstairs
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      thanks nick, will be goin ahead with this now.

      just a few more

      will I be able to connect the second tv to the vcr scart on the sky+ box?

      the cable length needed is 10m, will this affect the picture quality?
      Last edited by 5chulzy; 12-11-09 at 11:09 AM.

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      You can use the VCR output, but I think you may lose some on-screen messages, but I can't be 100% sure of that.

      You can buy 10m SCART cables - if you use a fairly good quality one, you shouldn't see any appreciable degradation in quality. The problem of course is that SCART plugs are quite large, so it's a case of knocking out quite a large hole in the wall or ceiling, or cutting the cable and rejoining it.

      Use Google to find 10m SCART cable supppliers - don't go for the really expensive cables - they're a waste of money.

    7. #6
      Elaine Simpson's Avatar
      Elaine Simpson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      We have sky+ and we have a sky magic eye for viewing upstairs in the bedroom, but we are getting lots of interference with the picture and the sound can anyone think of anything we can do to stop this

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      Change the channel number in the Sky Receiver settings and retune the TV to the new channel number.

      If you have a Sky+ receiver the engineers menu is. Services, 4, 0, 1, Select.

      If a Sky HD then it is. Services, 0, 0, 1, Select

      Remember to save the settings.

    9. #8
      Elaine Simpson's Avatar
      Elaine Simpson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ distribution (magic eye)

      so sorry, my husband now informs me that what we have is a wireless digi sender and receiver, so I dont know if this makes any difference, I am not sure how to get into the sky receiver settings either, sorry

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION