Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    ITV1 Region to Change

    This is a discussion on ITV1 Region to Change within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Just received a card in post from Sky saying ITV1 region is to change on Wednesday 21st October. So guess ...

    1. #1
      dazw30's Avatar
      dazw30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Cheltenham
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ITV1 Region to Change

      Just received a card in post from Sky saying ITV1 region is to change on Wednesday 21st October. So guess of getting the old ITV1 Central South (Now Meridian) I suspect Sky viewers around Cheltenham & Gloucester will now get ITV1 West on Channel 103

      Anyone else had a card from Sky about this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      I'm hoping that we will switch back to Yorkshire TV.
      Fancy, we live in the capital of Yorkshire, 30 miles away from the Yorkshire TV studios, and yet, ITV decided that we will get Tyne Tees TV from a region not even in this or the next county, and 90 miles distant!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,206
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      You can always phone Sky up and ask then to change your region if you want.

    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      You can always phone Sky up and ask then to change your region if you want.

      ITV allocate region according to post code. They have supplied Sky with that list and Sky slavishly follow it!

      When the change was made, many many moons ago, I and countless others, protested to Sky and ITV to no avail. Their response was 'unhelpful'!

      Maybe, these changes will put the situation right?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      Sky cannot change your region. They must follow the guidelines set by ITV, and only ITV can determine where a postcode is set. If ITV determine that your postcode falls in a certain broadcast area then you must contact ITV to get this changed, not Sky

    7. #6
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      Ned Ludd - it simply shows how ITV made Tyne-Tees a viable regional franchise back in the days of B&W TV. When I lived 10 miles due West of York I could see the lights on the nearest TV transmitter and that broadcast Tyne-Tees. Nothing to do with the viewer and all to do with the advertiser. No one in our village watched T/T and everyone had their antenna pointed west to the YTV transmitter.


      Equally Volvo insisted I visit their dealership in Harrogate when I was a mere 10 minutes from Volvo at Clifton Moor. No amount of arguing with them resolved the issue so I bought a BMW.

      You have a very valid reason to buy a Freesat receiver where you enter a postcode that gives the regional programmes you want. I guess any postcode starting with LS would serve the purpose!

    8. #7
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      Ned Ludd - it simply shows how ITV made Tyne-Tees a viable regional franchise back in the days of B&W TV. When I lived 10 miles due West of York I could see the lights on the nearest TV transmitter and that broadcast Tyne-Tees. Nothing to do with the viewer and all to do with the advertiser. No one in our village watched T/T and everyone had their antenna pointed west to the YTV transmitter.


      Equally Volvo insisted I visit their dealership in Harrogate when I was a mere 10 minutes from Volvo at Clifton Moor. No amount of arguing with them resolved the issue so I bought a BMW.

      You have a very valid reason to buy a Freesat receiver where you enter a postcode that gives the regional programmes you want. I guess any postcode starting with LS would serve the purpose!
      Great system innit? Give the customer choice, or what he wants - No Chance!

      Stupid thing is, with digi terrestrial I can decide which to watch just by pointing the ariel at the appopriate transmitter! Why must I be TOLD which region I MUST watch?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      "Why must I be TOLD which region I MUST watch via Satellite?

      I suppose it's ADD CHANNELS and then 10891H for YTV. Or use Freeview or Freesat.

    10. #9
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      We just watch the local stuff on Freeview! :sigh:
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    11. #10
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: ITV1 Region to Change

      Yippee! We've gone back to Yorkshire!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION