Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky + IR Interference

    This is a discussion on Sky + IR Interference within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi interesting problem that is making me tear my hair out Sony Plasma TV on wall bracket above a cabinet ...

    1. #1
      tojosan's Avatar
      tojosan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + IR Interference

      Hi interesting problem that is making me tear my hair out
      Sony Plasma TV on wall bracket above a cabinet with solid doors.
      Inside cabinet is DVD player, surround sound amp, VCR, Sky+ Box. Sony TV has a IR out port into which a Xantech IR distribution unit is connected with Remote IR eyes connected to the receiving eyes on the equipment. DVD, VCR, 5.1 Amp remotes all work ok. Sky remote works only intermittently. For example channel up works most of the time but channel down button works very rarely.
      Thought this might be due to stray IR from the other emmitters flooding the Sky Box as opening the cabinet door to let light in seems to solve the problem so taped up all the emitters - Sky Remote still does not work properly

      Next step was to disconnect the Sky Box IR from the Xantech and fit a magic eye, the receiver outside the cabinet and connected to RF2. - same result Sky Remote does not work properly - until you open the door of the cabinet - even partially.
      Either IR is flooding the Sky box or we have interference from plasma.
      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      How well is the cupboard ventilated? Sky+ will not work very well or last very long if it is in a a poorly ventilated position. It may not be the sole cause of your problem but it could be contributing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Some IR sensors on Sky boxes are not the best. Line-of-sight is usually the best, not in a cabinet, even with glass doors. You seem to have found the solution to your problem by opening the cabinet door. Also, having the digibox stacked with other AV gear is not recommended, principally because of the heat problem.

      To eliminate the plasma as the source of the problem, cover the screen ( if you can!!! ) with something, and try the remote. If it works OK, then screen radiation may be the culprit. Other causes of intermittent remote operation:

      Wireless router
      DECT phone
      Energy-saving lightbulbs
      Fluorescent lightbulbs
      Low Remote batteries
      Remote needs reset.

      As things stand, you may need a magic eye outside the cabinet to effectively control the digibox.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      tojosan's Avatar
      tojosan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Ventilation is pretty good. No heat probles

    6. #5
      tojosan's Avatar
      tojosan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Thanks. Equipment is all on separate shelves and heat does not seem to be a big factor.
      I will try covering the screen up to eliminate the plasma as a source of any interference
      I have already tried sticking a magic eye on the outside of the cabinet with same result - remote works very intermittently.
      Opening the cabinet door is not viable option - small children around with curious fingers who will mess with equipment

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Remote Reset. Press 'tv', then press 'select' & red button together ( LED blinks twice ). Enter 999 ( LED blinks twice ). Press Sky and see if things improve. You'll also have to re-input the tv code.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      I found that my wireless dect phone being in close proximity caused intermittent problems and also a slightly loose rf connect also caused intermittent problems.

    9. #8
      tojosan's Avatar
      tojosan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Thanks. Connections all appear to be ok and there are no DECT phones in the house so I keep coming back to interference from the Plasma when the remote is trying to send a signal

    10. #9
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky + IR Interference

      Have a go at covering the plasma screen, and try the remote again. It's possible also that the remote is faulty. Try it on a friend's digibox?
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION