Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Sky RF out support multiple connections?

    This is a discussion on Sky RF out support multiple connections? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have sky HD with RF out going upstairs to the bedroom with a magic eye allowing me to control ...

    1. #1
      mdavenport's Avatar
      mdavenport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      I have sky HD with RF out going upstairs to the bedroom with a magic eye allowing me to control the box in the bedroom, however I am looking to make this available in another bedroom.

      I am happy to have the same channel showing in the living room, bedroom and spare bedroom, however my question is:-

      Can I split of where the RF coax cable goes into my main bedroom and run this to my spare bedroom?

      Will the signal degrade due to a splitter?

      I understand there is also a RF 2 out but I don't really want to have to use this as I cant get another cable upstairs, hence the reason why I want to split of the RF Out 1.

      Is RF2 meant to be used for sending the signal into a 3rd room?

      If it matters, then I only plan to watch one in the room at any one time.

      Anyone done this and willing to share their experience/advice?

      Thanks
      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      You can simply split the RF2, but it can lead to problems.

      You need a global distributor (quite cheap), for example this one splits into 2, but you can get 4 way, 8 way and 16 way versions

      Global F120 2 way sky distribution amplifier: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

      BTW - if you check the back of your box, I bet the bedroom feed is already off RF2 and RF1 is unused. Magic Eyes only work off RF2 as this is the RF output with power.

      RF1 can be used, but you cannot use magic eyes with it.

      Also check out http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page15.htm#amp for more info

    4. #3
      mdavenport's Avatar
      mdavenport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      Fantastic, just the answer I was hoping for. Looks like amazon even do a package Amp + Magic Eye + Sky Remote...

      I think you are right. I must be using RF2. Think I changed to this from 1 when the magic eye didnt work.

      So I guess I would put the amp in bedroom 1 where the main cable ends, and port 1 to TV in bedroom 1 and port 2 to the cable the feeds bedroom 2?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      Quote Originally Posted by mdavenport View Post
      So I guess I would put the amp in bedroom 1 where the main cable ends, and port 1 to TV in bedroom 1 and port 2 to the cable the feeds bedroom 2?
      Yep you sure would. Personally mine is in my loft with port 1 going to bedroom 1 and port 2 to bedroom 2.

      BTW - check out ebay as they tend to be quite good for these types of goods too.

      My only word of warning is that some RF faceplates (the thing on the wall that your tv cable goes into) can shield the power signal.... however as your magic eye already works on bedroom 1 then i suspect bedroom 2 will be fine.

      Just post back if you have any problems when you come to installing it.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      ps - the 'F' version has the F-screw on connectors. The 'T' version has normal RF connectors. Personally the F connectors are easier to fit.

      F-connectors are the screw on type that the satelite cable has. T-Connectors are the bog standard aerial connectors see http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page7.htm for the different connector types

      Some T versions on ebay:t120, Satellite Cable Freeview items at low prices on eBay.co.uk

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      some more reading for you if you're interested:

      http://www.letsautomate.com/11097.cfm?

    8. #7
      mdavenport's Avatar
      mdavenport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      Thanks for prompt replies. Glad you mentioned loft as I was sitting here thing a bit more.

      I was thinking of getting a 4 port F140, and extending the RF2 out cable into my loft and then plug the amp in there. This way I can drop 4 cables into all the bedrooms I want, fit a magic eye and have sky in all these rooms.

      Does this sound feasible?

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      That sounds the spot on way to do it.

      I'm moving house in 8 weeks and will be doing just that!

    10. #9
      mdavenport's Avatar
      mdavenport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      One other question. Will the rf2 power a 4 way in the loft or will it need external power?

      If I use the standard coax connectors and not the screw in sky ones will it still work as expected?

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky RF out support multiple connections?

      You don't need power for a 4 way, but 8 way and above yes. There is enough power from the RF2 for a 4 way.

      If you plan to use standard coax connectors, then you must buy the 'T' version (and yes it will work fine).

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION