Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky card/box pairing/new card

    This is a discussion on Sky card/box pairing/new card within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Old Sky box appears to have packed up. Retrieved an old one from the loft and inserted the card from ...

    1. #1
      favemuppet's Avatar
      favemuppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky card/box pairing/new card

      Old Sky box appears to have packed up. Retrieved an old one from the loft and inserted the card from the dead box. Only have basic package (no films, sports etc) so all seems to be working perfectly.

      If I don't phone Sky to "pair" the box/card, will my new card (i.e. the replacement ones they are currently sending out) still work when it arrives?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      its only sky+ and sky+HD boxes that need to be paired with the card(to the best of my knowledge)
      so new card should work ok

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      I thought all cards needed to be paired.

      This avoids giving your higher paid membership to your neighbour when you go on holiday or taking it to the parents to watch the footy when you visit. :
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      if you have the movies or sport you need to phone sky
      to have the card paird to watch the channels if you have
      the basic shannels you dont need to phone them if you have the new card if
      not then you have to pair the box to get the new white card working

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      You should ring Sky to pair the card to the new receiver, that way, when the new card is issued it will be already setup to work with it.

      It only takes a minute on the phone to do, not sure why you haven't done it already, seems pointless waiting.

    7. #6
      favemuppet's Avatar
      favemuppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      not sure why you haven't done it already, seems pointless waiting.
      Coz I only swapped the boxes over late last night!

      Thanks for the tip.

      Now need to see if I can wangle a deal on upgrade to Sky +!

    8. #7
      favemuppet's Avatar
      favemuppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      Quote Originally Posted by jasonx1 View Post
      if you have the movies or sport you need to phone sky
      to have the card paird to watch the channels if you have
      the basic shannels you dont need to phone them if you have the new card if
      not then you have to pair the box to get the new white card working
      Just phoned Sky and was told that as we were on the basic package then pairing was not necessary.

      If new card (when arrives) fails to work to ring up again and pair that with the box. I'll accept this for now, to be honest, coz if new card doesn't work and results in problems I'll threaten to cancel and thus use it as leverage to get a deal on Sky + to get me to stay.

    9. #8
      RST's Avatar
      RST
      RST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      What a load of rubbish!

      Your viewing card is still paired up to your old box and can only be paired to one box at a time. It has nothing to do with what package you are on. So you are accepting paying of channels that you are not receiving until your new card comes through in the next month or two which will still be paired to your old box?

      You need to call and re pair your card to the new box.

    10. #9
      favemuppet's Avatar
      favemuppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky card/box pairing/new card

      Quote Originally Posted by RST View Post
      What a load of rubbish!

      Your viewing card is still paired up to your old box and can only be paired to one box at a time. It has nothing to do with what package you are on. So you are accepting paying of channels that you are not receiving until your new card comes through in the next month or two which will still be paired to your old box?

      You need to call and re pair your card to the new box.
      As far as I can tell, i'm getting all the channels I pay for - I'm only on the basic package, and its those channels I'm getting. So what's the problem???!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION