Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    saving Sky + recordings

    This is a discussion on saving Sky + recordings within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm awaiting delivery of my Sky + HD box and was just wondering what to do with the recorded programmes ...

    1. #1
      doeflax's Avatar
      doeflax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      saving Sky + recordings

      I'm awaiting delivery of my Sky + HD box and was just wondering what to do with the recorded programmes saved on my Sky + box.
      To save them to DVD's would I need to record them on to DVD in "real time" i.e. if there's say 8 hrs of recorded prog's would I need to play through them all for 8hrs whilst recording on to the DVD, or is there a quicker way of doing it.
      2nd question is, will I be able to set up the old Sky + box in tandem with the new HD box ( say connect + box to scart input on TV ) and select between the 2 inputs ( scart for Sky + box and HDMI for the HD box ) ?
      Thanx in anticipation guys.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      You can copy them off with Copy+ onto a spare drive and then back on to the HD drive but they are different formats (IDE & SATA) so that isn't so easy.

      You can set them up in tandem but you will need to have the HD box on a multiroom subscription to do this.

      You cannot pay your recordings without the card in the receiver that was used to record them.

    4. #3
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Just wondering can you copy them from the copy+ straight to the DVD

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Well you could but you wouldn't be able to play them as they are encoded. also, you won't get much on a DVD, even a small drive is 40gb.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      To be honest, unless it is a sporting event which will not be repeated, you are as well forgetting about it. Just about every film, documentary or series that is shown on Sky will be repeated. It is possible to transfer the recordings to the new drive, but it involves removing both drives from their boxes, invalidating your warranties. It not worth the hassle.

      Copying them in real time, either to your PC or to a DVD/HDD recorder is the easiest way.

      Non-Sky recordings can the copied from the HDD to your PC quite easily and are not encrypted.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      doeflax's Avatar
      doeflax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Big Thanx for the replies guys.
      Gonna just delete some, and try to copy the main ones onto DVD with a dvd recorder.
      I can understand now, I'd need to use my viewing card in both boxes to get them to work in tandem.
      Ah well. Once again, thanx for the info.

    8. #7
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      doeflax
      Hi if you are copying single item from the planner. In planner click on copy and then copy to DVD should take no time at all copying from planner

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      doeflax
      Hi if you are copying single item from the planner. In planner click on copy and then copy to DVD should take no time at all copying from planner
      It takes as long as the programme is, a 2hr film will take 2hrs.

    10. #9
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Was asked to record a program I forgot but put on the planner My Daughter wanted it on a DVD so went in planner highlighted the program pressed red (copy) came on screen to DVD Recorder (As that was the only thing I could copy to) I pressed copy and the program was copied in seconds

    11. #10
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: saving Sky + recordings

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      Was asked to record a program I forgot but put on the planner My Daughter wanted it on a DVD so went in planner highlighted the program pressed red (copy) came on screen to DVD Recorder (As that was the only thing I could copy to) I pressed copy and the program was copied in seconds
      Somethings gone wrong there then...

      Mike

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION