Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky+ dead!!!

    This is a discussion on Sky+ dead!!! within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I switched on my (would you believe) just over one year old Sky+ box today and after a few minute ...

    1. #1
      oldun's Avatar
      oldun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480472536
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      St Neots, Cambs
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ dead!!!

      I switched on my (would you believe) just over one year old Sky+ box today and after a few minute it switched off to standby and now all I get when i switch on is the red standby light.

      It does not respond to buttons on front of box or to remote.

      I assume that the box is dead. is there anything I can do as well as calling Sky?

      Assuming it is dead would it be better

      1. To buy a new box, perhaps Sky+ HD, from Sky and therefore have to pay the extra 10 approx per month for HD

      2. To buy a box from Ebay

      If 2 then which box/model no should I buy?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      Hi you may have either a failing PSU unit or a failed HDD either way you will need to phone Sky. You could try a planner rebuild by pressing the back up button on the front panel on the unit as you switch it on.
      If not your choices are to get it replaced replaced for 65 from Sky
      Buy a Sky+HD box from Sky and just use it as you are now without the HD sub.
      Try to replace the HDD if your technical enough
      or as you say buy one from from Ebay and pair the card

    4. #3
      oldun's Avatar
      oldun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480472536
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      St Neots, Cambs
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      I was obviously a bit too pessimistic and jumped the gun on getting a replacement.

      I phone Sky and within three minutes was speaking to a very helpful Scottish lady with a beautiful accent. She talked me through a box reset and now everything is working as per normal.

      The only slight inconvenience is that I lost all my recorded programmes. That in general is not important it's just that we were watching the Rowan Atkinson, Maggy Smith film we recorded the other day (called something like "Keeping Mum") and we had to pack in about 30 minutes from the end (Maggy Smith had just revealed the fact that she was the mother and the fact that she had killed the dog and the two trouble makers) and we would like to see what happened.

      Does anyone know if this film is on again in the near future and can anyone tell me the exact title?

    5. #4
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      Did you ask the Sky operator for a credit on your account when she told you to erase your recordings?

    6. #5
      oldun's Avatar
      oldun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480472536
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      St Neots, Cambs
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      No - should I have asked for one?

    7. #6
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      Hi you may have either a failing PSU unit or a failed HDD either way you will need to phone Sky. You could try a planner rebuild by pressing the back up button on the front panel on the unit as you switch it on.
      If not your choices are to get it replaced replaced for 65 from Sky
      Buy a Sky+HD box from Sky and just use it as you are now without the HD sub.
      Try to replace the HDD if your technical enough
      or as you say buy one from from Ebay and pair the card
      Holding backup and turning on is a forced software download, not a planner rebuild.
      BT Infinity

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by oldun View Post
      No - should I have asked for one?
      It would have been a good idea.

    9. #8
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ dead!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Sam Radford View Post
      Did you ask the Sky operator for a credit on your account when she told you to erase your recordings?
      You won't get a Loss Of Viewing credit for that.
      BT Infinity

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION