Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Problem with Magic Eye

    This is a discussion on Problem with Magic Eye within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm looking for some help on this one so would appreciate your thoughts. I have Sky HD in my living ...

    1. #1
      PeterC's Avatar
      PeterC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton (NEB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with Magic Eye

      I'm looking for some help on this one so would appreciate your thoughts.

      I have Sky HD in my living room and would like to control channels etc on the TV in my 2nd floor bedroom (townhouse). Having purchased a magic eye, I've powered-on the RF2 outlet via the HD box's set-up menu.....however, when I plug the magic eye in upstairs, the LED light will not come on (and consequently will not change channel)

      To diagnose the problem, I've tried plugging the magic eye directly into the HD box and the LED does come on (so the magic eye is OK), I just can't get it to power-on upstairs.

      Does anyone have any ideas ? would I benefit from some sort of power amplifier ?......would you recommend running a new cable between Living room and bedroom

      All help greatly appreciated.....

      Peter


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      How does the cable go from the receiver to the upstairs? if it going via a wall faceplate or has any joins in it this may be the problem.

      If you are getting the pictures ok then you may find that there is something in the loft (a splitter or similar) that is not compatible with the magic eye.

    4. #3
      PeterC's Avatar
      PeterC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton (NEB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      How does the cable go from the receiver to the upstairs? if it going via a wall faceplate or has any joins in it this may be the problem.
      Hi Smithy - the signal goes via a wall faceplate in the living room, up to the RF faceplate in the bedroom

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      Chances are this is the problem, they can interfere with the voltage sent out by the receiver.

      You could try removing them and see if there is a small resistor on the back, if so, I think removing this may sort it out, they are designed to remove any charge in the system (you obviously need this for the magic eye to work).

      failing that you could always fit an 'f' plug directly on the cable and then use an 'f' back to back with a direct connection to the receiver and the same again to the upstairs TV, if you have enough cable behind the faceplate that is.

    6. #5
      PeterC's Avatar
      PeterC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton (NEB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      Thanks Smithy....the direct 'f' plug option is a really good suggestion.......I'll give it a go (depending on the amount of cable available)

      If that's not an option, can you explain how I go about removing the resistor.....a photo of what I should be looking for would be great

      Cheers

      Peter

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      You won't have enough play with what is behind the faceplate but it you remove the cable from the back of the faceplate and fit an 'f' plug to it, you can then make a short patch lead and connect it with the 'f' back to back connector, you will need to do this both ends.

      Failing that, you should be able to get a couple of new faceplates that are magic eye compatible, if in doubt, ask.

      The resistor should be obvious, it will be a small round tube shape with a couple of coloured lines on it with a leg either side, you can just cut the two legs to remove it.

      I cannot be 100% that this will work, but it has many times in the past.

    8. #7
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      The connections with Magic Eyes have to be very good for it to work properly. The TV RF signals will quite happily jump across a layer of dirt or oxide on the surface of the cable, but the low votage DC which powers the magic eye will not. Ideally, all connections should be soldered.

    9. #8
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      You should download and read the full instructions.
      Problems with your TV Link?

    10. #9
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      It's not resistors in the faceplate, it will be a couple of "decoupling" capacitors - resistors would attenuate the signal too much. quickest way of seeing if this is the prob (if you're not into soldering etc) is to take a small strand of copper wire, or fuse wire, and wrap it around the 2 legs of each capacitor, thereby shorting it - If this cures the prob, then you need to replace the faceplates, or remove the capacitors and solder links in place.

      Mike

    11. #10
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with Magic Eye

      Typical wall plate capacitors in photo here:
      How to fit Wall Plates
      This type of plate should be recycled.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION