Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

    This is a discussion on Removing Dish leads from sky+ box within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I am having a new carpet laid soon and I will need to have my Sky box removed for a ...

    1. #1
      prdcb1's Avatar
      prdcb1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      I am having a new carpet laid soon and I will need to have my Sky box removed for a short time. However in the back the dish leads look as though they have been secured by a spanner. Is there any way I can remove them.

      I have a pace Sky+ box.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      I have yet to see am installer actually tighten them with anything but his fingers!

      f they appear tight, a little wiggle normally sorts it, of course you can always get spanner/shifter/pliers out if needed - but give it a go...


      Mike

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      ..........and make sure the digibox is unplugged at the mains before you start disconnecting everything.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      connormill's Avatar
      connormill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kincorth, aberdeen, scotland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      ..........and make sure the digibox is unplugged at the mains before you start disconnecting everything.
      Can't agree more, altho its only 13 or 18 Volts coming out of a Sky box, its still hurts, especially at the top of a ladder!
      Amstrad Sky+HD, Samsung Sky+HD, Thomson Sky+ and a Pac Sky+, Sky talk unlimited + line rental, and Sky Broadband Unlimited at 18.5Mb/s - Priceless, literally ( 0/month!)

    6. #5
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      There is no problem removing them when it is plugged in. It is actually proper procedure to remove the LNB feeds from a PVR3 Sky+ box 30seconds before turning off the power.

      Just need to make sure your hands are dry
      BT Infinity

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      I have seen dozens of receivers damaged due to the LNB cavles being shorted when removing them, it is a pointless thing to do.

      Why would unplugging the LNB cables when the receiver is on be a good thing???

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Removing Dish leads from sky+ box

      On no account touch ANY connections while the equipment is live!
      Only yesterday I read a post from somebody who has wrecked his Thomson tuner by shorting out the LNB connection while reconnecting the cable.
      http://www.avforums.com/forums/sky-h...onnection.html

      Also, you can get a shock.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...nnect-lnb.html
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 28-06-09 at 06:40 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION