Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Stopping sky+ dialling home

    This is a discussion on Stopping sky+ dialling home within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Is there any way to disable sky+ dialling out facility. Quite simply i dont want another two bloody phone extensions ...

    1. #1
      cornz's Avatar
      cornz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Is there any way to disable sky+ dialling out facility.
      Quite simply i dont want another two bloody phone extensions in the house. I have **no** intention of using any sky+ service that requires the facility.
      So, ive simply taken em out. On my old sky box, i could add a prefix onto the dial out number but on the new sky+ box (amStrAD) i cant find the "hidden" menu.
      Now i have no doubt that i will get a letter which will go staight in the bin but would just like to know if there is any resonable excuse i can use.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      If you are on multi-room, in a few weeks time you'll get a letter pointing out that the boxes must both be plugged in to the phone line registered to your account, which you agreed to do when you took out the subscription. If you ignore that, the next step is that they start direct debiting for two separate single-box packages.

    4. #3
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Ok, sounds like you have multiroom, correct?

      If so, it is a condition that all boxes are connected to the same, functioning telephone line, not just for the duration of your 12 months contract, but always..

      Reason being, is quite simple - Sky want to make sure that all of your boxes are in the same house, and that your friend/neighbour/relative etc isn'rt getting Sky for 10 a month...

      They do this by comparing the caller ID's that get sent when the boxes call in - This is why they put "1470" in as a dialling prefix, just in case your number is witheld..

      Not only will you get a warning letter or two... Which you may bin.. BUT you will then start getting charged full price for the subs on your multiroom box(es)

      Not a great deal you can do about it, as it's in the T&C's you agreed to when you toolk out multiroom...


      Mike

    5. #4
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Lol @ Old Nick, took me too long to type my reply!

      Mike

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Yours was much more informative, though ! I'd forgotten about the 1470 - actually it's 1471, but who's counting ?

      I got a letter myself last year. I hadn't deliberately disconnected the boxes, but the HD box had developed a fault and it wasn't phoning home any more

    7. #6
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Nick - 1470 forces the calller ID to be sent, 1471 just tells you who called last...



      Mike

    8. #7
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Stopping sky+ dialling home

      Yes, you're correct.... I thought it was 1470 = off and 1471 = on, but of course the 1471 is to find the last number that called (and I use it a lot !). It's 1470 = on and 141= off

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION