Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

    This is a discussion on Help on Sky on a 2nd TV within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hey all, I am very new to this so please bare with me. My mate who came down from America ...

    1. #1
      buffness's Avatar
      buffness is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      Hey all,

      I am very new to this so please bare with me.

      My mate who came down from America had Sky+HD in his apartment. Because of the recession, he lost his job and gave me his Sky+HD box for free!
      Great...

      I plugged it into my Sky connection at my flat which is the normal Sky connection (no HD/Sky+ etc...) I called Sky and they activated the + features..

      I am now using the Sky+HD box to view Sky through my main tv. I do however now have a spare Sky Box sitting around as this was the box I used before.
      I do have a TV in my bedroom, but there is no sky connection on the wall to fit this to.

      Is there ANY way I can use this Sky box to view TV channels? This may be a stupid question as I thought the answer would be no as I do not have a Sky connection on the wall in my room. But, these days there are gadgets available in order to do this.

      Any help appreciated


      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      buffness's Avatar
      buffness is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      that sounds very confusing - sorry
      but what i am trying to get to is i want to view my sky channels on my tv in the bedroom

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      Without a connection to the dish the old receiver will not work.

      You could however just run a feed from the HD receiver to the bedroom via the RF2 on the back, this would allow you to watch whatever you want including recorded programmes from your HD box.

    5. #4
      buffness's Avatar
      buffness is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Without a connection to the dish the old receiver will not work.

      You could however just run a feed from the HD receiver to the bedroom via the RF2 on the back, this would allow you to watch whatever you want including recorded programmes from your HD box.
      I dont mean to be thick lol but how do I run a feed?!? (sorry!!)

      I have been looking at this:
      Mini Wireless Audio/Video Sender Kit > Maplin

      This should let me do what I want to do, however does this mean that I can watch different channels i.e BBC on the Lounge TV where the actual Sky Box connection is ,and Sky Sports on the bedroom TV?

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      No, you will have to watch the same thing on both TV's with the sender..

      If you have an aerial feed in to the back of the Sky box ( as in tv aerial not dish) and you run a cable from the RF2 outlet to the bedroom you will be able to watch standard TV and the Sky channels so you could have BBC1 on in the bedroom and Sky Sports on the main TV. You would not be able to watch two seperate Sky channels at the same time though.

    7. #6
      buffness's Avatar
      buffness is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      Hmm
      Thanks for the reply, I sorta understand now.

      With regards to it, the wiring would be complicated as I would have to get a massive roll of wire to connect them.
      Would the product I posted from Maplin above do the same type of thing?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help on Sky on a 2nd TV

      Yes but t may be subject to interference, you would have to just cross your fingers.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION