Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

    This is a discussion on Sky & Freeview on the same tv? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; hi i've just purchased a new panasonic plasma tv and i want to know how to switch between freeview and ...

    1. #1
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      hi i've just purchased a new panasonic plasma tv and i want to know how to switch between freeview and sky because at the moment it says i haven't got an aerial connected to my tv.

      so all i need to know is how to get a signal with my analogue aerial and sky dish.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      To watch sky select AV1 or HDMI or any other input you may have sky set up on. to watch freeview select TV and then just change the channel on the TV.
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

    4. #3
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      thx 4 the reply but it says i have no aerial connected.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      Was the aerial working OK on the previous TV? Have you changed anything anywhere?

      You may have a short in the aerial connector. I'd start by taking that to pieces and checking carefully that no fine wires from the outer shielding are connected to the central thick wire carrying the signal. Best bet is to cut off about 3cm of the coax and restart again.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      To get Freeview you will need an external digital aerial, the Sky dish will not work and an old aerial, if it works at all will be very poor.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      Quote Originally Posted by smiley rulez View Post
      thx 4 the reply but it says i have no aerial connected.

      you need to plug the aerial (analogue) into the Sky digibox, there is a socket for this. Have you done this?

      You can plug the aerial into the back of the TV to test it without the Digibox.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      To get Freeview you will need an external digital aerial, the Sky dish will not work and an old aerial, if it works at all will be very poor.
      There is no such thing in TV in the UK as a digital aerial. The Sky LNB and your rooftop aerial are both picking up analogue signals carrying digital information.

      It sounds to me that the TV needs the aerial plugged in and then the TV needs to be told to tune itself in (installation menu).

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      I bow to your superior knowledge, but if that is the case, what is this -
      Labgear HG420W/S Wide Band High Gain Digital Aerial 15dB - Screwfix.com, Where the Trade Buys

      I understood that analogue broadcasting was being phased out and that some parts of the country were already 'all digital'. The Scottish Borders being one area.

      I have mine plugged straight into the TV which allows me to watch live freeview while recording 2 programs on Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      A fully digital compatible aerial is just a wideband aerial, nothing more, nothing less!!

    11. #10
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky & Freeview on the same tv?

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      A fully digital compatible aerial is just a wideband aerial, nothing more, nothing less!!
      Exactly right.
      Digital Terrestrial Television services in the UK had to be shoe horned into the existing spectrum, which meant that for the vast majority of the UK, DTT is not in the same narrow band of frequencies the existing aerial picks up and requires a wideband antenna. As I've already said digital TV in all forms, requires analogue modulation to transmit it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION