Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky + and shared dish

    This is a discussion on Sky + and shared dish within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My Dad has got his own dish and currently has Sky. He lives in a block of flats and recently ...

    1. #1
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + and shared dish

      My Dad has got his own dish and currently has Sky. He lives in a block of flats and recently they installed two new sky feeds on the wall into his flat, plugged his sky into this and said he no longer needs to use his dish.

      The thing is he was thinking about getting sky+ which I know needs 2 feeds. The new install seems to have two working feeds. Is this all thats needed?

      Can he phone sky and just get the sky+ box off them and tell them he doesnt need the dish upgrade? I dont suppose they'll reduce the installation charge, will they?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky + and shared dish

      If he lives in flats the company that maintains the building often has a company they use for the Sky satellite system, your dad will need to talk to them not sky. If both wall feeds are live sat feeds then in theory he only has to swap the box out.

    4. #3
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + and shared dish

      Yeh. Like I said hes got his own dish as well. It just so happened that these people came along and added another socket to his wall and sky is now running from this.

      I might get Sky to come and upgrade his existing dish anyway (since its all part of the cost), just in case the two sky feeds suddently stop working for some reason.....
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky + and shared dish

      If you upgrade by getting a box from Sky they will still charge the full installation fee. Many who have upgraded from Sky+ to HD complain about this, but there is nothing you can do about it. The only way you can avoid the installation charge is to buy the box from a 3rd party. You would not save much, if any, given the price that Sky charge for a box, unless you bought used from eBay.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky + and shared dish

      i got a sky + box of Ebay for 50 its a pace box with 160 gb been working fine

      Must admit once you get one its the bees knees brilliant would really miss it now if it went

      One other things to mention is you must be subscribed to sky NOT FREE SAT before you can record any programs.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky + and shared dish

      you can get sky+ record functions with free sat but at a 10 per month(9.75 with newer vat) sky+ subscription

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION