Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    High Strength but Low Quality signal?

    This is a discussion on High Strength but Low Quality signal? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Although everything has been working perfectly tonight I have very high signal strength but low / zero signal quality. If ...

    1. #1
      Petegee's Avatar
      Petegee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01392
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      Although everything has been working perfectly tonight I have very high signal strength but low / zero signal quality.

      If your dish is misaligned leading to zero quality would the strength not also be affected?

      I have had scaffolding erected within a few metres of the dish around my house - can the scaffolding interfere with the sat signal causing quality issues eg via reflection or only by causing line of sight issues?

      There's no evidence that a stray pole has knocked the dish in any way so what else might cause the low quality signal?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      To lose signal strengh, something has to either be in the line of sight or the dish needs to have been moved off align.

      Signal quality can be affected by a number of things, weather, radio wave interference etc. I suppose that the scaffold being in close proximity could be acting like an antenna and causing some radio interference, if it doesn't show on screen, I wouldn't worry about it.

    4. #3
      Petegee's Avatar
      Petegee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01392
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Exeter
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      so if I understand you correctly given that my signal strength is still high (ie no different to normal) the dish hasn't been misaligned and its line of sight isn't blocked by the scaffolding which is good news...

      However, the signal quality is still very low / zero (which means I can only watch a handful of channels as most of the ones we normally watch eg ITV, Five and CBeebies, etc, etc just show a blue screen) since the weather at the moment is no different to normal is it reasonable to assume it's the scaffolding causing an interference problem?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      That or faulty LNB?

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      The last time I saw this was when a house next door had a fire and scaffold was erected right around it.

      Although it was not in the line of sight it caused interference stopping a clear pictre on some of the channels, We mounted the dish on a patio mount until the scaffold had been removed and then put it back in it's original place where it continued to work perfectly.

      Sounds a similar situation to yours.

    7. #6
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      Signal reflections from any solid object can cause problems.

    8. #7
      nikbj68's Avatar
      nikbj68 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01407
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      I have lost signal qulity, but the strength is as it always was. I had to unplug the Sky box, so I don`t think it has anything to do with the dish being obscured. Any guesses?

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      Quote Originally Posted by nikbj68 View Post
      I have lost signal qulity, but the strength is as it always was. I had to unplug the Sky box, so I don`t think it has anything to do with the dish being obscured. Any guesses?
      If the dish is not being obscured by anything then it could be a faulty LNB, or even a fault with the sky box itself.

      Have you tryed a force update, last time I tryed that when the signal was low it brought it back up again.

    10. #9
      nikbj68's Avatar
      nikbj68 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01407
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      ...Have you tryed a force update, last time I tryed that when the signal was low it brought it back up again.
      What exactly is that? does it involve having a phoneline connected, as I haven`t since 2001!!!

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: High Strength but Low Quality signal?

      You don't need a phoneline connected for this.

      Unplug the receiver, then plug it back in and turn it on whislt holding down the backup button in the receiver (not the remote) you will then get a message on screen telling you it is updating etc.

      Wait until it's finished, it will reboot and see if it helps. It's worth a try.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION