Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

    This is a discussion on Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs... within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Couldn't see a thread on this, so thought I would start one... I know the installers are under time pressure ...

    1. #1
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Good and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Couldn't see a thread on this, so thought I would start one...

      I know the installers are under time pressure etc, but the number of quite frankly, atrocious cabling jobs I have seen lately just beggars belief.

      As I live on a new development, I see lots of installs, where I think "How the hell have they gotten away with that?"

      Not being funny, but if you had paid for a brand new house, and the installer is knocking chunks off it, don't know about you lot - but I would be LIVID!

      So, lets see who can spot the WORST cabling.... Post a pic!!

      I can't wait to see some of these...


      Mike
      Last edited by GSMGuy; 31-03-09 at 08:10 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Ok, will start this off with pics of our install...

      Dish up on corner of house, with cabling running into roof void for multiroom, and to drainpipe for box in lounge:




      Cable running down rear of drainpipe:



      Prob as neat as I could get it...

      Mike

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Neat.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Cable looks o.k, but the bottom two bracket screws look to be in the brick course, rather than the bricks themselves.

      I also hope that there is a little tape on the f plugs under the plug cover on the LNB, this is very fiddle with four cables , but well worth the effort
      Last edited by Brian69; 31-03-09 at 08:45 PM.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Doesn't look too bad, the only problems I have found when running cable behind the downspout is that it can be very hard to tack in.

      Also as Brian says, the bottom two bolts are in the mortar, although with the size of the digital dishes I don't think that is an issue.

    7. #6
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      It's common practice to run cables behind drainpipes, though they should be cable tied to it. If the bottom 2 bracket holes are in the mortar, then so are the top 2!! This is a cardinal sin!! All bolt holes should be in the brickwork, not the mortar courses.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      It is a lot easier to drill into mortar than brick, which is why the installer has taken the easy route. Heavy fixings should never be made into joints and although the dish is not very heavy, when the wind hits it it could increase it's weight many times. Over a long period the plugs will loosen.
      I am not sure but does the cable run underground before entering the house. Very tidy but is standard cable suitable for underground installation?
      I am not being picky about your work, which looks an awful lot better than some installs I have seen.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Never even checked where he had drilled for the dish tbh, and being a kitchen fitter, I am fairly well up on fixing things to walls!! As pointed out, I always try for the brick, rather than the mortar when putting up wall unit hanging brackets!

      The cable is cable tied to the drainpipe, using translucent ty-wraps, you can just make one out above the pipe fixing bracket - The cable is actually in the border of the garden around the house, so technically not underground, just covered in the gravel etc, although I wouldn't have worried about putting it a couple of inches under the surface if there hadn't been a border, to protect it from the mower!!!!

      Mike

    10. #9
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      When i went back to Sky after being with NTL for a while, I told sky I only needed a new cable running to box as still had dish.
      I`d fitted a quad LNB and the kids had a sky box each running `FreeStat` and we had the NTL cable box in the living room.
      Sky installer came with our new box and the ran a new cable from box through wall to dish. Nice chap and I`d got thing to do so let him get on with the installation.
      He set up the box and TV ect and showed me that it was working OK.
      very happy to have Sky back, until kids get home and their boxes aren`t getting a signal. Idiot installer had only CUT the cables and changed the quad LNB for a single one
      So it was out with my ladder , garden bench , planks of wood (ladder not very long and dish very high up), put the quad LNB back up and bodge cables back on

      So if your having Sky installed/ re-installed then watch the installer like a hawk.
      Anyway rambling rant over.
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    11. #10
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor and plain Bad cabling on installs...

      Quote Originally Posted by ashleyrunt View Post
      When i went back to Sky after being with NTL for a while, I told sky I only needed a new cable running to box as still had dish.
      I`d fitted a quad LNB and the kids had a sky box each running `FreeStat` and we had the NTL cable box in the living room.
      Sky installer came with our new box and the ran a new cable from box through wall to dish. Nice chap and I`d got thing to do so let him get on with the installation.
      He set up the box and TV ect and showed me that it was working OK.
      very happy to have Sky back, until kids get home and their boxes aren`t getting a signal. Idiot installer had only CUT the cables and changed the quad LNB for a single one
      So it was out with my ladder , garden bench , planks of wood (ladder not very long and dish very high up), put the quad LNB back up and bodge cables back on

      So if your having Sky installed/ re-installed then watch the installer like a hawk.
      Anyway rambling rant over.
      I'd have been on the phone like a flash - tantemount to criminal damage - he had neither your instruction, or your permission to cut YOUR cable feeding YOUR freesat!

      Mike

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION