Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky in apartment

    This is a discussion on Sky in apartment within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi all, I wonder if anyone can help with a query I have. I'm moving into a rented apartment next ...

    1. #1
      DDR1073's Avatar
      DDR1073 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky in apartment

      Hi all,
      I wonder if anyone can help with a query I have. I'm moving into a rented apartment next month. I know there is a communal dish and a socket in the living room. The chap living there at the moment said he watches Sky in the master bedroom but this is just a feed from the box in the living room.
      My query is, is it possible to get Sky Multiroom in each of the bedrooms with a single feed into the apartment.
      I've searched around on google and forums such as this but people seem to always want Sky+ or HD. I'd settle for plain old digiboxes.
      Does the same apply to the bog standard digibox as with Sky+ and HD? ie. separate lines need to be run from the communal dish or get a separate dish (doubt the terms of the lease would allow this)? I'm not too fussed about recording programmes, would just like separate boxes in each bedroom if at all possible or feasible.
      Any advice greatly appreciated!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      No, each receiver will require it's own feed. You can do the same as your neighbour and run a coax from the RF2 but you will only be able to watch the same Sky programmes on the TV's.

    4. #3
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      You will still need separate cables for each box
      in over worlds you would need a dish with a 4 way LMB on it so you would have 4 feeds one for each room
      you can only run one lead for one box not multi boxes off one lead
      hope this helps.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    5. #4
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      Get a single cable router set up and job done! Just google global invacom SCR

    6. #5
      DDR1073's Avatar
      DDR1073 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      Cheers chaps,
      Single cable router, would that be one of these
      Sky Plus | Sky+ | Sky+ Manchester
      If so, would it be fitted within the apartment or connected to the communal dish?
      Thanks for the help so far!

    7. #6
      DDR1073's Avatar
      DDR1073 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: unknown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      I've just looked at this global invacom SCR thingy and it appears to be just the thing. Thanks again.

    8. #7
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      Hang on a mo - All this device does is to stack four outputs from the block's multiswitch onto one cable so that they can be unstacked at the apartment end of the single coax.

      The OP needs to know that this will only work if there are four available outputs on the freeholder's multiswitch and if the freeholder gives him permission to use them and if he can get permission from the freeholder to install his own single cable router at the head end.

      In my experience this is unlikely but there you go.

      The page linked to suggests to the uninitiated that this box can just be installed in the apartment with nothing else required. Not the case I'm afraid!

    9. #8
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      It doesn't need 4 spare OP's, It maintains the same amount of standard outputs from the multiswitch. The landlords/Managing agents would need to give consent. They will probably use thier own service contractors who may do the work for you.
      DO NOT ATTEMPT TO INSTALL THIS THIS EQUIPMENT YOURSELF!! THIS IS FOR PROFFESSIONAL USE ONLY!!!
      Last edited by Woodster; 21-03-09 at 10:47 AM.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      THIS IS NOT SOMETHING YOU SHOULD ATTEMPT TO DO YOURSELF!!!!

      Woodster you need to put a disclaimer on your posts

      There may be much easier ways, contact the landlord, there may be free spaces available on the distribution side, if so you would only need a cable to be ran in.

    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky in apartment

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      THIS IS NOT SOMETHING YOU SHOULD ATTEMPT TO DO YOURSELF!!!!

      Woodster you need to put a disclaimer on your posts

      There may be much easier ways, contact the landlord, there may be free spaces available on the distribution side, if so you would only need a cable to be ran in.
      Done!! Thanx!!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION