Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    sound fault on skysports 1

    This is a discussion on sound fault on skysports 1 within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, new here, I am having a problem with the sound on skysports1, normally always on saturdays when watching soccer ...

    1. #1
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sound fault on skysports 1

      Hi, new here,

      I am having a problem with the sound on skysports1, normally always on saturdays when watching soccer am, around half 10, the sound from soccer am dissapears and I get test messages from skybet live, and sound checks instead???

      I am currently watching the stmirren - celtic game on ss1, and I am getting the audio commentry from the cricket on ss2, been doing it for ages and is really starting to annoy the life out of me.

      I have previously phoned sky and reported the fault but they have basically told me there will be a callout charge, and i will have to pay for a repair, or a new box if it is found to be faulty.

      My sky+ box was replaced under warranty a few months after installation due to a few faults, and I was issued with a re-furbed one, which is out of warranty now.

      Has this happened to anyone else? and what did you do to fix it?

      also does anyone have any advice on what to try next?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      If you are saying you are watching SS1 live, and are simultaneously getting audio from SS2 live, then you may indeed have a tuner problem. I've never heard of this particular fault before, but you can try rescanning your channels using the New Installation procedure:

      Press Services, 4, 0, 1, & Select. ( Note that nothing appears on the screen when you press 0 & 1). This brings you to the Installers Setup. Select Option 6 - New Installation. You channels will be rescanned, and the audio should be correctly aligned with the video signals.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      thanks mate, just to check, will this delete anything from the sky+ planner?

      thanks

    5. #4
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      No. See how you get on.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. #5
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      just tried there, but unfortunately it is still the same

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      I've been looking at SS1 & 2 and there's no problem here. Sooooooooo.........a callout seems on the cards. Looks like a faulty tuner. Can't think of anything else. Anyone?

      Edit: Try a cold reboot. Switch off, unplug at mains, disconnect Dish Inputs, wait 5 mins, then reconnect and switch on again.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      no worries mate, thanks for your help,

      will give that a try when the footballs finished.

    9. #8
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      tried the re-boot, but still the same

    10. #9
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Quote Originally Posted by jordanb View Post
      tried the re-boot, but still the same
      Oh well. We tried
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    11. #10
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      no worries mate, thanks for trying

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION