Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    sound fault on skysports 1

    This is a discussion on sound fault on skysports 1 within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by Kenedin If you are saying you are watching SS1 live, and are simultaneously getting audio from SS2 ...

    1. #11
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      If you are saying you are watching SS1 live, and are simultaneously getting audio from SS2 live, then you may indeed have a tuner problem. I've never heard of this particular fault before, but you can try rescanning your channels using the New Installation procedure:

      Press Services, 4, 0, 1, & Select. ( Note that nothing appears on the screen when you press 0 & 1). This brings you to the Installers Setup. Select Option 6 - New Installation. You channels will be rescanned, and the audio should be correctly aligned with the video signals.
      How can a tuner fault give the wrong audio? Its not a tuner issue.
      Rebooting the STB forces the box to regather all the channel information. A New Installation just forces the STB to call back to Sky to receive the original signals which tell the smartcard what entitlement the box has. After the original install it has no effect AFAIK.
      Changing channels forces the STB to re-read the PMT which tells the box what audio and video data to use.
      Jordan - what type of box are you using, SD , Sky+ or Sky+ HD. Have you got Audio description turned on?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      How can a tuner fault give the wrong audio? Its not a tuner issue.
      Rebooting the STB forces the box to regather all the channel information. A New Installation just forces the STB to call back to Sky to receive the original signals which tell the smartcard what entitlement the box has. After the original install it has no effect AFAIK.
      Changing channels forces the STB to re-read the PMT which tells the box what audio and video data to use.
      Jordan - what type of box are you using, SD , Sky+ or Sky+ HD. Have you got Audio description turned on?
      Hi, its a pace sky+ box,

      Im not sure what you mean by audio description?

      thanks

    4. #13
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Audio Description (AD) is the facility used by Sky to assist blind or visually impaired people. Basically, when there are gaps in the programme dialogue, studio artistes at Sky describe what is happening on the screen when there is no dialogue present. If needed, you can turn it off and on via Services>System Setup>Languages & Subtitles. If you haven't heard of it, it won't be turned on. But you can check anyway.

      I think there was a AD bug which affected Dolby Digital output - sound dropouts, or similar. Not too sure, as I never experienced it. I can't find anything which relates to your particular problem of audio channel 'crossover' ( as I call it ).

      Anyway, I hope you get it sorted, one way or the other.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #14
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      Audio Description (AD) is the facility used by Sky to assist blind or visually impaired people. Basically, when there are gaps in the programme dialogue, studio artistes at Sky describe what is happening on the screen when there is no dialogue present. If needed, you can turn it off and on via Services>System Setup>Languages & Subtitles. If you haven't heard of it, it won't be turned on. But you can check anyway.

      I think there was a AD bug which affected Dolby Digital output - sound dropouts, or similar. Not too sure, as I never experienced it. I can't find anything which relates to your particular problem of audio channel 'crossover' ( as I call it ).

      Anyway, I hope you get it sorted, one way or the other.
      AD isn't in dolby so theres no AD bug.

      Jordan - next time it happens try disconnecting one of the RF feeds, if your pics disappear then reconnect and disconnect the other feed. See if the rogue audio disappears. Sounds like the box is at fault tho.

    6. #15
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      would the rf feeds be the inputs from the dish?

      cheers

    7. #16
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Quote Originally Posted by jordanb View Post
      would the rf feeds be the inputs from the dish?

      cheers
      Yes they would.

    8. #17
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      no worries bud, will give it a try next sat

    9. #18
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      Check your private messages.

    10. #19
      jordanb's Avatar
      jordanb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01563
      Broadband ISP: adsl24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Kilmarnock
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sound fault on skysports 1

      thanks mate

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION