Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky On My Pc

    This is a discussion on Sky On My Pc within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi guys looking to run a cable from my sky box to my pc so i can watch and record ...

    1. #1
      stigmata1823's Avatar
      stigmata1823 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01776
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      stranraer
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky On My Pc

      Hi guys looking to run a cable from my sky box to my pc so i can watch and record programs. what will i need to do this? cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      afaik You would need some type of TV capture card and then you should be able record in real time on the PC

      Normally it would use the scart connection on the Sky Box and then phonos on the TV Capture card side of it. (2 phonos for sound and 1 for video)
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      I use a pinncle studio 500 external capture card, (there is also a 700 model with more connectors) the beauty of this is that you can have the signal going into the card close to the Sky box and then you can use 5m usb leads to get it to the PC.

      although the 500 and 700 are "discontinued" you can pick them on ebay new and quite cheap and getting the latest version of Studo is quite cheap although the packages do come with older versions if you want to try them.

      You do need a fairly hefty PC and plenty of memory if you want to capture something close to full screen resolution, if not you will have to sacrifce quality.

      I have a quad core Core 2 at 2.83 GHz with 8 gig of 800 Mhz DDR2 corsair memory and it can stream from the Sky+ box for hours, my old PC was dual core and 2 gig of memory struggled quite a bit.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    5. #4
      stigmata1823's Avatar
      stigmata1823 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01776
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      stranraer
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      cheers for that m8 gonna have look on ebay. have u got a guide to installing it and full setup

    6. #5
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      I use on my Sky+ box a Scart to 3 phono leads they go into the input side of the capture card and then I use a USB lead to go to the PC.

      The trick is to keep the signal from the Sky box to the capture card short as the analogue signal can degrade over a long lead and if you want to keep the PC in another room you can use up to about 8-10 m USB lead.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    7. #6
      stigmata1823's Avatar
      stigmata1823 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01776
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      stranraer
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      ok guys just look at my setup and its actually, i want to run another feed from my dish to another standard box in my bedroom then connect that up to my pc?

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky On My Pc

      This is what you really need: http://cielplus.com
      .
      .

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION