Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    New Sky Remote needed

    This is a discussion on New Sky Remote needed within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi everyone, I need to nuy a new Sky Remote for my Skybox. The box is of the white variety ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      New Sky Remote needed

      Hi everyone,

      I need to nuy a new Sky Remote for my Skybox. The box is of the white variety with the blue glowing sky logo.

      The problem is searching on Ebay brings up remotes that are not compatible with Amstrad Boxes.

      In the system settings on my box it days it is an Amstrad.

      So what remote will work? Is this "not for all Amstrad" warning for the old Amstrad fronted boxes?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      Any Sky Digibox remote will work (with a standard Sky Digibox). Obviously, if it's a Sky+ or SkyHD you'll need the appropriate remote.

      You should be able to get a StolenFromSky remote very cheaply off eBay.

      Of course "any" remote may not operate your TV so make sure you get the right revision.
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 24-01-09 at 11:42 PM.

    4. #3
      TheVoyager's Avatar
      TheVoyager is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: WRBRIX
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Unl.Fibre
      Router: TP-Link VR2600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB *2
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Camberwell, London
      Posts
      171
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Hi everyone,

      I need to nuy a new Sky Remote for my Skybox. The box is of the white variety with the blue glowing sky logo.

      The problem is searching on Ebay brings up remotes that are not compatible with Amstrad Boxes.

      In the system settings on my box it days it is an Amstrad.

      So what remote will work? Is this "not for all Amstrad" warning for the old Amstrad fronted boxes?
      You can buy them instore at ASDA (probably online as well) - I saw them in the store at Bournemouth today
      Bob

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      I picked a Sky+ remote and magic eye from Maplin for about 12 last year.
      Bit dearer now - Maplin > sky remote


    6. #5
      richhodg's Avatar
      richhodg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      I would have a look on ebay, i just brought a brand new genuine SKY+ HD remote for 10 delieverd.

    7. #6
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      So the posts that say Not for All Amstrads will work on my White SKy "Amstrad" box?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      We don't know what it is you are looking at on ebay. If in doubt, go round and get one out of Comet, Argos, Maplins etc etc.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #8
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      We don't know what it is you are looking at on ebay. If in doubt, go round and get one out of Comet, Argos, Maplins etc etc.
      Not to helpful a quote.

      Any search on Ebay for a Sky remote shows a multitude of "Not for all Amstrads".

      Never mind will get one and let you know. Then maybe others will know rather than being told to go down to Asda, Tesco etc.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Not to helpful a quote.

      Any search on Ebay for a Sky remote shows a multitude of "Not for all Amstrads".

      Never mind will get one and let you know. Then maybe others will know rather than being told to go down to Asda, Tesco etc.
      Why don;t you post a link to one you have seen on e-bay to give us an idea what you are worried about?

      As long as you match the remote to your Sky receiver you won't have any problems.

      ie, Sky+ remote for either Sky+ or Sky+HD
      Standard remote for any standard Sky receiver

    11. #10
      richhodg's Avatar
      richhodg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Remote needed

      Heres a link to the guy i brough one off on ebay.

      The one I purchased was a sky+ Hd remote control, this one is a sky+ remote.


      SKY PLUS REMOTE CONTROL - BRAND NEW on eBay, also, Remote Controls, Satellite Cable Freeview, Consumer Electronics (end time 27-Jan-09 17:36:14 GMT)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION