Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Is this signal OK (pic included)?

    This is a discussion on Is this signal OK (pic included)? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Guys, Had the install from hell before xmas (details in this thread). The guys from customtv came back to ...

    1. #1
      LostBoy's Avatar
      LostBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      Hi Guys,

      Had the install from hell before xmas (details in this thread). The guys from customtv came back to fix the cowboy install job today. After replacing a section of cable I'm still only getting 10%? on input one. I queried this with the 'engineer' but was told its the signal quality thats more important. Is this BS?

      Thought it was ok as I was getting a decent picture on a few channels I checked (and a signal on input 2 for the first time!) but now Channels in the 500's are reporting 'no signal, error 25' and the picture is stuttering \ freezing etc.

      Phoned customtv was told they will be coming back this afternoon, also rang up sky was told signal level should not matter? Im confused, please help!




    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      Quote Originally Posted by LostBoy View Post
      was told its the signal quality thats more important. Is this BS?
      Yes, signal quality is much more important than signal strength, but that said, the signal strength does look worryingly low.

      However, whether it is low or not is immaterial. You're having problems picking up some channels so customtv/Sky need to sort it.

    4. #3
      LostBoy's Avatar
      LostBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      Thanks for quick reply Saturday, thats given me a bit of hope. Hopefuly they can sort it out today as I can't afford to take any more days of work. Will try to get them to replace the high pitched sounding amstrad box too!

    5. #4
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      If I had a Signal Strength as poor as 10% on one input, I'd be seriously concerned, especially as the other seems OK. You mentioned a section of cable being replaced. Is this the one that's giving a low signal strength? If so, I'd either re-inspect the repair, or do a new run of cable.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. #5
      LostBoy's Avatar
      LostBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: N/A
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      UPDATE:

      Guys from customtv came back and updated the software on the box and all is now good (sinal one looks like signal two in the pic). Don't understand why Sky couldant get me to do that over the phone would have saved everyones time.

      Probably detailed on this site but the procedure was to turn off the box at the mains, hold down the back up button and turn on at the mains. Keep pressed in for a further 30 secs, several lights should illuminate on the box, release button and let update take its course (approx 10 mins).

      I guess this should have been done during the initial install, another thing they left out.

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Is this signal OK (pic included)?

      Quote Originally Posted by LostBoy View Post
      UPDATE:

      Guys from customtv came back and updated the software on the box and all is now good. Don't understand why Sky couldant get me to do that over the phone would have saved everyones time.

      Probably detailed on this site but the procedure was to turn off the box at the mains, hold down the back up button and turn on at the mains. Keep pressed in for a further 30 secs, several lights should illuminate on the box, release button and let update take its course (approx 10 mins).

      I guess this should have been done during the initial install, another thing they left out.
      Glad it's sorted. Yes, the software update is part of the installation. Cowboys, indeed!
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION