Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Old Sky dish as an aerial?

    This is a discussion on Old Sky dish as an aerial? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My sister down London, has just got a new TV, the aerial in the block of apartments where they live ...

    1. #1
      hughesey's Avatar
      hughesey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Burton on Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      My sister down London, has just got a new TV, the aerial in the block of apartments where they live doesn't provide the best of reception on their TV, but they have a Sky Dish with 2 cables running into the apartment, is there anyway they can buy an adaptor to put on the end of the cable and in theory use it as an aerial for better reception?

      I only ask as when we cancelled our Sky contract at the end of last year we still managed to pick up all the freeview channels, obviously when we cancelled it, the box and card was still in our house, and we managed to still pick up freeview channels....

      Would this work for my sister, they don't have a Sky Box or card or anything, but I found somewhere online a small adaptor that fits to the end of the F-connector which turns it into a normal aerial cable, aah here it is:
      F-type Socket to TV Coax Plug*::*TV/Satellite Cables*::*Satellite and TV*::*Cable Universe
      Regards, Hughesey
      Speedtest @ home:-


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      The short answer is no.
      Changing the connector does not convert a satellite dish into a terrestrial TV aerial.
      A low cost solution would be to obtain either a Freesat Box, or a Sky Box for use with the satellite feed.


    4. #3
      hughesey's Avatar
      hughesey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Burton on Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      Ah right, ok.
      Would any old sky box work? Don't suppose you know how much you can pick one up for these days second hand?
      Regards, Hughesey
      Speedtest @ home:-

    5. #4
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      You can buy a New Freesat box for under 50 in most electrical shops.

    6. #5
      hughesey's Avatar
      hughesey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Burton on Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      One thing i forgot to mention was the new TV's got integrated digital freeview, do i still need to buy a freesat box? whats the difference between freesat and freeview? I take it freeview is analogue and the other is satellite??
      Regards, Hughesey
      Speedtest @ home:-

    7. #6
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      Integrated digital freeview needs a good working Aerial with a good signal to recieve the Digital Channels.

      Freesat is from a satellite.

    8. #7
      hughesey's Avatar
      hughesey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Burton on Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      Ta.
      Which now explains why the old TV they had was OK when tuned into normal BBC1, 2, 3, 4...
      But the new TV struggles to keep the picture, must be a dodgy aerial or something, ok, ta mate, much obliged...
      Don't suppose the landlords of the flat should be bound to provide a decent up to date aerial capable of recieving freeview or prob not yet? when the switch over is imminent i suppose?
      Regards, Hughesey
      Speedtest @ home:-

    9. #8
      hughesey's Avatar
      hughesey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01283
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Burton on Trent
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      just found this.... quite interesting.
      TV Aerial - Who's responsible? - The Consumer Forums
      Regards, Hughesey
      Speedtest @ home:-

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      Moved to Sky TV forum.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Old Sky dish as an aerial?

      The private landlord is not responsible, but the managment co are. Try to find out who they are (CPM, MCS,BLR,ect as most seem to be the same co from broxbourne) and get them to sort it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION