Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky box not connected/broken

    This is a discussion on Sky box not connected/broken within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Can anyone figure this out. My skybox (2 yr old PACE) doesn't connect to te TV. I have checked ...

    1. #1
      Bigmick's Avatar
      Bigmick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky box not connected/broken

      Hi, Can anyone figure this out. My skybox (2 yr old PACE) doesn't connect to te TV. I have checked the cables, input channel etc to no avail. The box turns off and on as normal, but TV doesn't register this. Scart cable is fine.
      The lad at SKY, reckoned the box could be knackered. Is this the case??
      Don't want to spend 100quid to be told that I need to spend same again to get a new box.

      Thanks in advance
      M


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      Quote Originally Posted by Bigmick View Post
      Scart cable is fine.
      Have you tried another just to be sure ?
      You could also try the rf out to see if you get a pic via that.
      If its just the standard digibox then you can pick them up for 20-30 on ebay.
      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sky-Digibox-pe...1%7C240%3A1318
      Theres plenty of others if you fancy upgrading to +
      Last edited by dholdi; 04-01-09 at 10:56 PM.


    4. #3
      Bigmick's Avatar
      Bigmick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      Have checked scart using DVD- no issues, so should be ok.

      How do I check the RF out?

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      Ok, might still be worth checking just in case the pinout on the sky box is different to the dvd ( dont know if it is for sure, just an idea ) Could you borrow one to try.
      The rf out is the old type coaxial cable that we used to use to connect the video to the tv before scart became commonplace. The sky box has rf out and the tv will almost certainly have rf in, you just need the cable to check.


    6. #5
      Bigmick's Avatar
      Bigmick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      No joy. Have tried 2 scart cables and an RF cable. Is it possible that the box is knackered? Would it be doing this sort of thing? I will try to borrow a box tomorrow if I can.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      Possibly it is knackered, it could also be the lnb on the dish not transmitting a signal to the box. Do you also have an ariel feed to the rf in on the box ? If so you could try disconnecting the dish feed to the box and you should still be able to view itv, bbc. If that doesnt work then i would think it is the box. If you can borrow a box that would prove it i guess.


    8. #7
      Bigmick's Avatar
      Bigmick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      Thanks for that. I will get back to you when I have checked that out.

    9. #8
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky box not connected/broken

      You should at least be able to see the menu screen when you press the "menu" button.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION