Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Adaptor required to merge TV signals

    This is a discussion on Adaptor required to merge TV signals within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I am buying bedroom TV which has a built-in Freeview digital tuner and an analog tuner. I belive both tuners ...

    1. #1
      steveharvey2001's Avatar
      steveharvey2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      I am buying bedroom TV which has a built-in Freeview digital tuner and an analog tuner. I belive both tuners are connected to the same RF socket so I will need to merge the RF2 analog feed from downstairs (SKY+) with the UHF signal from a digital terestrial aerial located in the loft above the TV set.

      Is there a product available that can do this without causing interference on the digital terestrial or sky signals ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ezdub's Avatar
      ezdub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      Quick question does the digital terrestrial aerial not also give you standard analogue signal?

      Because if it does could you not run that feed down to the SKY box and then use the RF2 from the SKY box to the TV in the bedroom to give you the analogue and the digital signal in one feed.

      That is what I do.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      That is the correct way to do it, You should run the aerial into the aerial in socket of the Sky receiver and then use RF2 output to run to the bedroom.

      This will give both analog, freeview and sky to the TV and also give you the option of fitting a magic eye to turn Sky over from upstairs.

    5. #4
      steveharvey2001's Avatar
      steveharvey2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      The aerial on the roof does supply the Sky+ box input but it has to loop in and out of our Sony IDTV's digital tuner unit first.
      By the time the terrestrial signal gets upstairs, via an in-loft amplifier, the signal is deteriorated such that analog is snowy and digital is pixelated so I decided to use a seperate wideband loft aerial for the bedroom IDTV.

    6. #5
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      If the main Sony IDTV works ok, then you probably have a poor cable or connection feeding your amp, or just a poor quality/broken interconnect cable or your Amp is faulty. If you do want to combine your sky with a seperate aerial feed, it will depend on what tv transmitter you are recieving from. Eg. If you use the Crystal Palace transmitter, you can buy a Group A and a Group E combiner, plug the aerial into A and the sky feed into E.
      Last edited by Woodster; 31-12-08 at 04:14 PM.

    7. #6
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      Your Sky box has TWO RF outputs. RF Output 1 can loop in and out of your Sony IDTV's.
      RF Output 2 is the one that feeds your bedroom TV. Use double-screened cable. If the cable run is really long (>30m) then use a "SkyLink compatible" amplifier to boost the signal before it goes upstairs.
      See Split Digibox RF outlet for other TVs

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      As a quick bodge, you could try fitting a Y splitter the wrong way around, I've seen it done many times and it is a cheap way of doing it if it works, although not the best way


      ..........Aerial in
      TV <
      ..........Sky feed in

    9. #8
      steveharvey2001's Avatar
      steveharvey2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      My setup is such that the roof aerial [malvern relay analog group] feeds direct into the digital tuner of the Sony IDTV which has a loop-out intented to be looped into the [never used] analog tuner. The loop-out feeds instead to the RF-in of the SKY+ box and the RF2 [DC enabled] feeds a loft amplifier to supply 3 TVs in the 3 bedrooms plus the kitchen. The Sky picture on the 4 remote TVs is perfect but the analog pics are snowy and freeview boxes will not work on it. My kids rooms have Freeview STBs with their own loft aerials so I was planning to do this for my main bedroom IDTV but there as there is only 1 RF input I would need to combine the signals. I am interested to know about the "Group A and a Group E combiner" option. The digital MUXes in my area are on 39, 41, 44, 47, 51 & 52 and I assume I could set my Sky RF output as low as 21 and use a combiner.

      Any advise as to where I could purchase a combiner would be welcome.

    10. #9
      ezdub's Avatar
      ezdub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      I am surprised that you have so many aerials in the loft but there you go.

      I think that this will be a good option for you. How to combine aerials/LNB into one cable?

    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Adaptor required to merge TV signals

      Quote Originally Posted by steveharvey2001 View Post
      My setup is such that the roof aerial [malvern relay analog group] feeds direct into the digital tuner of the Sony IDTV which has a loop-out intented to be looped into the [never used] analog tuner. The loop-out feeds instead to the RF-in of the SKY+ box and the RF2 [DC enabled] feeds a loft amplifier to supply 3 TVs in the 3 bedrooms plus the kitchen. The Sky picture on the 4 remote TVs is perfect but the analog pics are snowy and freeview boxes will not work on it. My kids rooms have Freeview STBs with their own loft aerials so I was planning to do this for my main bedroom IDTV but there as there is only 1 RF input I would need to combine the signals. I am interested to know about the "Group A and a Group E combiner" option. The digital MUXes in my area are on 39, 41, 44, 47, 51 & 52 and I assume I could set my Sky RF output as low as 21 and use a combiner.

      Any advise as to where I could purchase a combiner would be welcome.
      The Malvern Transmitter is Group E so a group A/E combiner would work.
      Triax TMC3739
      http://www.triax.co.uk/upload/masthead.pdf

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION