Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

    This is a discussion on Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Bit of a silly question but, I recently got a new TV stand (mounts TV to wall) the bracket ...

    1. #1
      ryohazuki1983's Avatar
      ryohazuki1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Hi,

      Bit of a silly question but, I recently got a new TV stand (mounts TV to wall) the bracket is blocking my scart connection on the TV so could I run Sky through a standard RF cable? I noticed the box has in/out connections, I haven't got a lead to test.

      I've got a HD TV so would viewing the picture with a RF signal result in worse picture quality?


      Cheers!

      Ryo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Yes you can run via the UHF but the picture will not be as good.

      You can get different wired SCART leeds with the cables coming directly out of the rear like a letter T. Either that or use component cables (red/white/yellow) you can get these SCART one end to the three plugs the other and you should have this option on your TV.

      Either that or you now have a good excuse to go to HD, you can use a HDMI lead then

      UHF should be your last choice due to quality.

    4. #3
      ryohazuki1983's Avatar
      ryohazuki1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Yes you can run via the UHF but the picture will not be as good.

      You can get different wired SCART leeds with the cables coming directly out of the rear like a letter T. Either that or use component cables (red/white/yellow) you can get these SCART one end to the three plugs the other and you should have this option on your TV.

      Either that or you now have a good excuse to go to HD, you can use a HDMI lead then

      UHF should be your last choice due to quality.
      Thanks for the help! I should of thought about the bracket blocking but didn't think the design would be that silly! Might have to see if I can remove TV to put scart or look into the different lead types or upgrade to HD, although I'd have to convince the wife first!

      UHF will do for now

      Cheers.

    5. #4
      ryohazuki1983's Avatar
      ryohazuki1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Tried an RF cable last night at the picture wasn't watchable at all. Not because i'm picky about the picture but it was really fuzzy (like it needed tuning in) I tried auto-scan to find channels, it did find sky but like I said above wasn't watchable.

      I plugged the RF into the sky box's "aerial in" port as this was the only port my cable would fit in, the RF output/Input was a different connection (male/female) can't remember.

      Should I buy another cable male to male or female to female for the "Output" connection on the sky box?

      Any ideas?
      Last edited by ryohazuki1983; 31-12-08 at 11:08 AM.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Yes, you must go from RF out to the aerial in of the TV.

      The lead is male - female and you get them on all sorts of things, old VCR's and games consoles, you may have one about.

      You may also find thet there was an adaptor plug on the old TV lead.
      Last edited by Smithy99; 31-12-08 at 01:34 PM.

    7. #6
      ryohazuki1983's Avatar
      ryohazuki1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      Ok thanks, will see if I can get a new lead or an adapter to convert the end to female.

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky through RF (NOT for magiceye/separate TV)

      The adapter picture is near the bottom of this page:
      How to fit a male IEC TV plug to double-screened cable

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION