Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    copy to dvd / vcr fails

    This is a discussion on copy to dvd / vcr fails within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have a new Sky+ box - great except that I'm having problems copying to my DVD / VCR... I ...

    1. #1
      tartansand's Avatar
      tartansand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      copy to dvd / vcr fails

      I have a new Sky+ box - great except that I'm having problems copying to my DVD / VCR...
      I mark the various recordings to be copied - red button etc
      Screen comes up saying "make sure you're dvd is set to record... etc"
      I start the recorder
      I press "select" to begin and the following happens....

      The list of recordings to be copied pops up briefly on the screen (for about a second - it gets recorded) then the screen just reverts to the recorded programmes listings - and that's what gets recorded!
      Tried it with both DVD and VCR via both scart and RF connections - same result
      Tried pressing "play" instead of "select" - suggested in another forum - same result as above

      So rather than recording the programmes I've marked it records whatever is on the screen.

      Anyone any idea what I'm doing wrong - or have I got a duff box?
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      I believe this to be a software bug that occurred when the autostandby feature was introduced. On my box it screws up the aspect ratio as well.
      Someone may have upto date info.


    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      Either that or it is the copy protection kicking in, does it happen an everything or kust certain programmes?

    5. #4
      tartansand's Avatar
      tartansand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      The programmes are just normal broadcasts - BBC etc, no films
      I've tried a number of them and the same thing happens on everything - and there's no message or anything saying they can't be copied

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      I had exactly the same problem on my Sky+ box. It has nothing to do with copy protection as I could record any program I wanted, provided it was done 'manually'. I have not tried it yet on my HD box, but I will give it a go soon, before the hols, as I want to create some space.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      tartansand's Avatar
      tartansand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      I'm going to speak to SKY about it - let you know what happens

    8. #7
      tartansand's Avatar
      tartansand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      Sorted!
      I was taken through the following procedure by the Sky technician...
      Switch Sky+ box to standby
      Unplug the mains supplies of all equipment connected to it
      Disconnect the dish inputs
      Unplug the Sky+ box mains plug - leave it out for 10 seconds or so
      re-connect the dish inputs
      Re-connect the mains plugs of all equipment connected to Sky box
      Plug Sky+ box mains plug back in
      Wait minimum of 60 seconds
      Switch on the Sky+ box from standby

      Test the copy function - first time it failed just like before
      Changing nothing, I re-selected "select" - and it worked

      Since then I have found that this is the "normal" routine
      The first time the select button is pushed it flashes the copy list up but returns to the listings, press select again and the copy list remains up and then it starts playing the first on the list and completes the recording of all on the copy list onto my DVD

      I question some of the logic of the routine above but it's fixed the problem so who cares!

      Hope this helps others with the same problem

      PS
      The first call I made was using their 0870 number and I was connected to someone (obviously overseas) who was a complete disaster, obviously reading from a script and not listening to what I was explaining - I gave up on them after a VERY frustrating 10 minutes and called on 01506 677 000 - got through to a Scottish lady who was excellent and was very knowledgeable.

      SKY management! - stop trying to use cheap overseas call centres, they don't work properly and just get your customers frustrated and angry.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: copy to dvd / vcr fails

      a Scottish lady who was excellent and was very knowledgeable.
      You would say that with a name like yours.

      Thanks for the feedback, I haven't had a chance to try my HD box yet, but if it fails, I will certainly give that a try.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION