Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

    This is a discussion on Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I just got a Laptop on Ebay that came with a Belkin USB, thingy. I installed it with the ...

    1. #1
      Pankaja's Avatar
      Pankaja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Hi, I just got a Laptop on Ebay that came with a Belkin USB, thingy. I installed it with the CD, and plugged it in to see what would happen. It picked up a signal from the Sky Box, as Sky user etc. I don't have Sky Broadband or anything, so I tried it out. And I can surf the net with it (although signal is not that good)., I am sure this is NOT FREE. Or is it?http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/image...es/redface.gif


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Are you sure you are not picking up someone else's internet connection?

    4. #3
      Pankaja's Avatar
      Pankaja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      No because it would be encrypted, right? It says Sky User etc. I dont know maybe my nextdoor neighbour has it. But is it Free? Thats my main question

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Erm it's probably your neighbour and you are technically breaking the law. Some people don't turn encryption on in their router settings as they have problems connecting with it.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Definitely picking up the signal from an unsecured router. If you have Sky TV you can get free Broadband from Sky, for a few months anyway. Better this than risk prosecution for piggybacking. Some high street fastfood joints used to give you free broadband with a cup of coffee I don't know if they still do it. Sometimes it is available at your public library. This is the only way you will get free broadband without a subscription.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      This is the only way you will get free broadband without a subscription.
      Correction: This is the only way you will get free broadband legally without a subscription

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Very true

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      Is it a wi-fi USB dongle or a mobile internet USB dongle that uses a built in mobile phone to connect to the internet?

      As it could be that you are using somebody elses phone account to connect rather than just using an unsecured wireless network.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      ^^^^^
      Would that happen, given that he is connecting to Sky?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Getting Internet Signal from Sky Box?

      No it would happen if I don't read the post properly cos I'm stupid.

      But to the original point what was the result of the court case of the person who was caught stealing bandwidth?
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION