Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

    This is a discussion on No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, im having a problem which is really starting to bug the hell out of me and hope somebody here ...

    1. #1
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      Hello, im having a problem which is really starting to bug the hell out of me and hope somebody here could help.

      I had only a single LNB connection and decided to get sky plus so i installed a new quad LNB but now some of the channels dont work (bbc 1,2, channel 4), so i read through a few threads and it seems that it could have been caused by a faulty LNB so i decided to buy another one, But also with the new one a can only receive some channels BUT different one's (sky 1,2, gold, dave and more)

      Also i have one of these dish alignment finders so i checked to make sure the dish was ok,

      And when i put the single LNB back in it works perfectly..

      I am using a Thompson HD box,
      Grundig LNB (single)
      Philips LNB (quad)

      Any help would be appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      The weight of the quad LNB is pullind down on the dish arm and pulling the dish out of alignment. To prove this put the quad back and push up on the arm. the channels will return. You then need to re-align the dish

      This assumes that you have got the correct LNB for a mini-dish
      Last edited by Brian69; 14-12-08 at 06:21 PM.

    4. #3
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      i have re-aligned the dish with the new LNB's and the problem still their

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      Are you using an LNB designed for use with a mini-dish?

    6. #5
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      think so

      WNC Universal Quad LNB
      Model: ff8
      Input: 10.70 - 12.75GHz
      Pasrt number: 13671 wistron quad lnb

      And

      Philips SC519QS/S QUAD Universal

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      Well all I cansuggest is that you fit the Quad LNB (make sure that you push it fully in to the dish arm) and try again, making sure that the cables are properly connected

    8. #7
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      tried all three again with aligning all of them one at a time and i get the same results.

      Whats the chance's ive got 2 faulty lnb's?

    9. #8
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      Have you tried a signal test ?

      Press Services button on the remote.
      Press 4 System Setup
      Press 6 Signal Test.

    10. #9
      lawsangel's Avatar
      lawsangel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      signals are ok, ive also read about the thomson psu's being the fault but i just opened it up and checked it and none of the capasators are burst or bulging

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: No signal on some channels (2 new lnbs)

      Bigger dish may sort it out, zone 2 60cm. I think.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION