Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

    This is a discussion on Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Will be changing the hard disk on my sky+ box ( AMSTRAD DRX280 PVR3 ). I stress I have ...

    1. #1
      jlutkin's Avatar
      jlutkin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      Hi

      Will be changing the hard disk on my sky+ box (AMSTRAD DRX280 PVR3).
      I stress I have Sky+, Not Sky+HD.

      Was going to go for the Seagate ST3500830ACE
      See
      SEAGATE DB35 Series 7200.3 ST3500830ACE - Internal hard drive - Buying guide: compare prices, technical specifications, tests and reviews, news and videos...

      I'm no techie...
      Anybody know if this is suitable? (Right type for Sky+?)
      Anyone used this sucessfully on the Amstrad PVR3?
      Anything better I should go for?

      Appreciate your help, want to get this fitted in the next few days to make the most of my temp upgrade to sky movies

      Thanks a lot.

      Jason


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      I should be OK, but I think if you record movies on to it using Sky+ they will become inaccessible if you don't actually have movies enabled. I could be wrong, but I am sure someone will confirm yea or nay.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      cassius_west's Avatar
      cassius_west is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      I'm in the same boat. But even if they do work ok, you try finding anyone that has got one in stock. I've trawled all the uk stockists and not one single company has this drive in stock. That was last week, so whether this has changed or not I don't know but they're like hens teeth right now.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      Yup if you record something and then downgrade you will not be able to watch the recordings.

      Most likely done to stop people recording lots of movies then downgrading and watching at your lesuire.

      For help with Hard Drives go to the Copy+ website

      Copy+, the free Sky & XTV disk copier software

      they have great program for formatting your new drive and for moving your planner over.

      If you want to stick a big disc in you need to use this to format it correctly.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      cassius_west's Avatar
      cassius_west is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      If you want to stick a big disc in you need to use this to format it correctly.
      So the box is capable of only formatting the original 160Gb drive??

      So in other words, you need to use the copy+ to format anything bigger, or can the box only format up to a certain size?

      Please clarify.

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      The Sky+ box can format something like up to 270 gigabytes and then any bigger disk will just be formatted to that maximum value and so any more will be lost.

      The copy+ program will format the entire disk (as well as move over programmes you have recorded) and it will be fully accessable by the Sky+ box.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      The box will only format up to a certain size, a bit more than 160, but not much. You should take the advice above and have a look at the Copy+ forums, this section in particular-
      http://www.skycopyplus.co.uk/forum/v...61c146b7835db1

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      jlutkin's Avatar
      jlutkin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      Thanks for your help everyone.

      Jason

    10. #9
      jlutkin's Avatar
      jlutkin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      Western Digital WD5000AAKB 500GB Hard Drive 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM

      Is this an alternative to the seagate? (16mb instead of 8mb?)
      Anybody used it?

      Thx

      Jason

    11. #10
      cassius_west's Avatar
      cassius_west is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seagate ST3500830ACE & Amstrad PVR3 (?????)

      I've just installed the 320Gb (ST3320820ACE) version in my DRX280 with no problems at all. I ordered mine from Dell on back-order. Despite their initial e-mail saying delivery expected for January, it actually arrived after I think it was 5 days! Of course, this is just my own experience, delivery could vary for others.

      HTH.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION