Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Sky+ hdd faulty - replace hdd or get new box?

This is a discussion on Sky+ hdd faulty - replace hdd or get new box? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi. I have a small dilemma. My Sky+ box (Amstrad DRX280 PVR3) which I've only had for about 4 months ...

cassius_west is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Thanks

Sky+ hdd faulty - replace hdd or get new box?

Hi. I have a small dilemma. My Sky+ box (Amstrad DRX280 PVR3) which I've only had for about 4 months or so has suffered a hdd failure (my day job is an I.T. repair guy) so immediately recognise the sound it is making. Although the box is under warranty, I thought that I'd open it to see which hdd it was (being careful not to damage the screw heads). It is a Seagate DB35.2 160Gb (ST3160212ACE).

First of all, it seems as though this drive is quite old, certainly older than the box so I'm not too happy about that. Since then, the DB35.3 has been released, so cannot understand why I ended up with this older generation drive (poss. sky refurb?).