Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    no signal being received

    This is a discussion on no signal being received within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Brillant, thanks for that, was interesting reading and is probably whats gone wrong here. The connector has been damage by ...

    1. #11
      abadozgirl's Avatar
      abadozgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Brillant, thanks for that, was interesting reading and is probably whats gone wrong here. The connector has been damage by rain or whatever. One last question is, can I cut off the damaged cable (assuming I can see it!!) and reuse the f-connector??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: no signal being received

      Yes as long as the F connecter is in good condition,and your cable is still long enough to reach,just cut the cable and follow the intructions on the link i posted. Hopefully it will help..

    4. #13
      abadozgirl's Avatar
      abadozgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Perfect, will be up the ladder tomorrow (weather permitting),
      Will give it a shot and if it doesn't work I guess there's no option left but to call out the cable guy!
      Thanks for all your help

    5. #14
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: no signal being received

      UNPLUG ALL the Sky Boxes connected to the Dish,as the boxes send power to the LNB on the Dish where the cables are connected.
      Last edited by psu300; 02-12-08 at 09:21 PM.

    6. #15
      Sarahsdaddy's Avatar
      Sarahsdaddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      I've got the same problem with mine, it worked over the weekend when it dried up but went off again

      is it worth getting sky protect? can I sign up & get them straight out or is there a minimum waiting period before you can call out?

    7. #16
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: no signal being received

      You could try a local aerial/satelite company, and ask for a FREE quote.

      Might be cheaper then Sky,as i believe they charge 65 for a call out.

      Hope This Helps

    8. #17
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Quote Originally Posted by abadozgirl View Post
      can I cut off the damaged cable (assuming I can see it!!) and reuse the f-connector??
      No, once water has entered the cable you'll have nothing but trouble. Replace the cable and make sure the connections are waterproofed properly with self-amalgamating tape or rubber boots.
      Fitting rubber boots to LNB cables

    9. #18
      Chez's Avatar
      Chez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Hi All,

      Along the same kind of lines, has anyone got any ideas if BBC1, SKY1 & Living channels are available but no satellite signal received message is displayed for BBC2, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5 and all the movie channels. It seems that if you leave the channel on the programs eventually come on (after about 30 minutes). I've now tested 3 boxes and the same thing happens with all of them which leads me to think that it is a signal problem but after doing a signal test the strength & quality are fine. I've also tried rebooting and doing a manual callback and nothing works.

      Could this still be a problem with the dish or cable??

      Any help is greatly appreciated.

      Cheers

    10. #19
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Sounds more like an LNB fault if the signal is ok.

    11. #20
      Chez's Avatar
      Chez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no signal being received

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Sounds more like an LNB fault if the signal is ok.

      Thanks, that'll be my next thing to check then! Hope it's that rather than the cable as I could do without changing that! I think I've got a couple of LNB's hanging around somewhere.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION