Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    It's driving me crazy!

    This is a discussion on It's driving me crazy! within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I had Sky+ installed a few months ago and very good it is too. However I have another box in ...

    1. #1
      Musicmonkey1's Avatar
      Musicmonkey1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      It's driving me crazy!

      I had Sky+ installed a few months ago and very good it is too. However I have another box in my daughters bedroom with a sky freesat card and recently she has started to have reception problems with channel 4 pixellating and sound drop outs. OK I've heard about channel 4 moving to Astra 2d but the problem is now worse with other channels (but not all) suffering from pixellation and sound drop outs. So up onto the roof for me with a new sat meter! I've realigned the dish, replaced the LNB and tried swapping the digibox (both Panasonic TU-DSB31s.) I've also tried powering down the LNB and doing an engineers reinstall all to no avail.

      The signal strength and quality in the system setup menu are sitting at about 90% which is about the best I've ever seen. I'm located on the South Coast of England so am well within the Satellite's footprint.

      Oh yes I've also tried switching off my Router and Dect phones but it's made no difference. I have a sneaky feeling that renewing the cable run (cable is only 12 months old) isn't going to help either!

      If anyone has a solution to this please tell me what to do. My Sky+ box running off the same dish is working like a charm.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      You've changed the LNB and checked alignment so if your Sky+ box is fine then all it can be is the box itself or the cable. Swap the boxes over and if your daughter's box is now OK then it's the cable (remember, cable includes the sat cable and the cable you use to connect the box to the TV). If it is still bad then it's the box.

      I'm wondering if it's the cable you're using to connect box to TV.
      Last edited by Saturday; 28-10-08 at 05:20 PM.

    4. #3
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      Quote Originally Posted by Musicmonkey1 View Post
      I had Sky+ installed a few months ago and very good it is too. However I have another box in my daughters bedroom with a sky freesat card and recently she has started to have reception problems with channel 4 pixellating and sound drop outs. OK I've heard about channel 4 moving to Astra 2d but the problem is now worse with other channels (but not all) suffering from pixellation and sound drop outs. So up onto the roof for me with a new sat meter! I've realigned the dish, replaced the LNB and tried swapping the digibox (both Panasonic TU-DSB31s.) I've also tried powering down the LNB and doing an engineers reinstall all to no avail.

      The signal strength and quality in the system setup menu are sitting at about 90% which is about the best I've ever seen. I'm located on the South Coast of England so am well within the Satellite's footprint.

      Oh yes I've also tried switching off my Router and Dect phones but it's made no difference. I have a sneaky feeling that renewing the cable run (cable is only 12 months old) isn't going to help either!

      If anyone has a solution to this please tell me what to do. My Sky+ box running off the same dish is working like a charm.
      This is interesting, I also have a mate who has a Panasonic which is also playing up on various channels very intermittently. It seems to be worst around 6.30pm.

    5. #4
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      Look at the "Picture" menu and change the video setting from RGB to PAL.

    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      Quote Originally Posted by Sam Radford View Post
      Look at the "Picture" menu and change the video setting from RGB to PAL.
      Whats your thinking Sam?

    7. #6
      Musicmonkey1's Avatar
      Musicmonkey1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      I have tried switching from RGB to PAL and it's made no difference at all to the interference/pixellation (although picture quality overall is not so good)

    8. #7
      Musicmonkey1's Avatar
      Musicmonkey1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      I have now changed the cable as well and guess what? no improvement! The signal test shows 100% signal strength and 90% signal quality. I just don't know what else to do!
      Last edited by Musicmonkey1; 01-11-08 at 12:18 AM.

    9. #8
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      Whats your thinking Sam?
      Many Panasonic Digiboxes develop a tuner fault that causes picture problems ONLY when RGB is selected.

      As the OP says my suggestion didn't help, I now suggest replacing the Digibox with a Pace.

    10. #9
      Musicmonkey1's Avatar
      Musicmonkey1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      Well I'd already tried two different Panasonic TU-DSB31 receivers without any improvement but given the advice here, I disconnected my Amstrad sky+ box (in the lounge) and tried that. Bingo problem went away immediately so the tuner problem affects BOTH my Panasonics. I'm now busy looking for a used Pace DS430N which seems to get good reviews.

      Can anyone recommend a better box than this one?

    11. #10
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: It's driving me crazy!

      No, the DS430N is the fastest box that Pace ever made.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION