Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Really stupid LNB question...

    This is a discussion on Really stupid LNB question... within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello everyone, new to posting in the forum but been using it since sky was installed last year! Thanks for ...

    1. #1
      Fugwash's Avatar
      Fugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Really stupid LNB question...

      Hello everyone, new to posting in the forum but been using it since sky was installed last year! Thanks for the help to date! Been invaluable!

      Interested in getting a new sky+/standard sky box for the bedroom, instead of forking out for multiroom is it possible to just upgrade the LNB on the dish and run 2 extra feeds to a new box in the bedroom? Or do you need the additional viewing card to make it work?

      Said it was a stupid quesiton!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Really stupid LNB question...

      you need another viewing card for the FTV channels (ie freesatfromsky).

      a second viewing card with multiroom will also give you your subscribed channels.

      no viewing card will give you the FTA channels only (take your card out of your current box to see wht you get).

    4. #3
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really stupid LNB question...

      I could be wrong here but it seems that there is now no discernable difference between the FTA and FTV channel listing.

      Does anyone know where you can view a list online?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Really stupid LNB question...

      FTA means that they are free and not encrypted. FTV means they are free but encrypted so you need a viewing to view them.

      Some channels have to be FTV so that people outside the UK can't pick them up.

      Sky Freesat channel list

      http://www.vowles-home.demon.co.uk/Sat/SkyFTA.htm

    6. #5
      Fugwash's Avatar
      Fugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really stupid LNB question...

      Cool thanks for that, did think that replacing the LNB would be farrrrrrrr too easy!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION