Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Frequencies

    This is a discussion on Sky Frequencies within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Everyone. I have just joined this site but have been looking in for a while. I have a Question. ...

    1. #1
      daddy45's Avatar
      daddy45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Frequencies

      Hi Everyone.
      I have just joined this site but have been looking in for a while.

      I have a Question.

      Is it possible to permenantly change your frequecy on your Sky box.

      I have sky, but not in the uk and the pre set frequency of 11778 stays all the time. I have to manually change the frequency ev ery few hours and to be honest it is starting to really irritate me.

      Any suggestions would be appreciated.

      PS great site!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Moved to more appropriate forum for greater exposure.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      What preset frequency are you talking about? If it's the default transponder, then it's easy to change.
      Services, 4, 0-1-select, 2 (Default transponder) and then enter the Frequency you want, save new settings.
      Thats the only frequncy you can change except if you are using the Add channels menu.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Quote Originally Posted by daddy45 View Post
      Hi Everyone.
      I have just joined this site but have been looking in for a while.

      I have a Question.

      Is it possible to permenantly change your frequecy on your Sky box.

      I have sky, but not in the uk and the pre set frequency of 11778 stays all the time. I have to manually change the frequency ev ery few hours and to be honest it is starting to really irritate me.

      Any suggestions would be appreciated.

      PS great site!
      Why do you want to change that default frequency? What do you think the effect will be?

    6. #5
      daddy45's Avatar
      daddy45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      Why do you want to change that default frequency? What do you think the effect will be?
      I need to change this as the 11778 Default transponder signal is not stong here in Cyprus, and i find using another signal better, however, the box keeps restoring itself back to its default frequency.

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      What preset frequency are you talking about? If it's the default transponder, then it's easy to change.
      Services, 4, 0-1-select, 2 (Default transponder) and then enter the Frequency you want, save new settings.
      Thats the only frequncy you can change except if you are using the Add channels menu.
      Thanks for your input woodster but i am aware of this having had to do it every few hours for the past 2 years...lol

    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Quote Originally Posted by daddy45 View Post
      I need to change this as the 11778 Default transponder signal is not stong here in Cyprus, and i find using another signal better, however, the box keeps restoring itself back to its default frequency.



      Thanks for your input woodster but i am aware of this having had to do it every few hours for the past 2 years...lol
      The default frequency is the only transponder which carries the whole schedule EPG. If you change the frequency then as far as I know, the next valid Sky frequency the box tunes to will cause the default to be reset.

    8. #7
      matthew1961's Avatar
      matthew1961 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Help,

      now that sky have changed the menu formats i can no longer find the transponders which were previously accessed as above - what is the new shortcut please?

    9. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Quote Originally Posted by matthew1961 View Post
      Help,

      now that sky have changed the menu formats i can no longer find the transponders which were previously accessed as above - what is the new shortcut please?
      Are you talking about the new EPG in Sky HD boxes? If so, press Services, 0, 0, 1, Select & 2 ( Default Transponder ).
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    10. #9
      rphirst's Avatar
      rphirst is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      Because your skybox isn’t plugged into the mains or telephone line occasionally or every time you turn your skybox on from the mains, you’ll need to re-tune your skybox, just like an old radio or TV set…

      Switch on the Skybox and TV…..


      ‘Services 401 Select’
      Ignore the TV for a moment…..
      this is a Sky Box… “Hidden Menu”

      Using the remote control
      press Services button and then 401 and then Select button.


      This is a hidden sequence that gives access to the Installer Setup screen.






      Once you have the
      “Installation Menu”
      Press 2 to get the “Default Transponder” screen.




      Now, using the keypad on the remote control, change the following
      1.Frequency to 12.207
      (Ignore the decimal point, just key in the 5 digits)
      2. Polarisation H
      3. Symbol Rate 27.5
      4. FEC 2/3



      Save New Settingsand then press Select.

      Sky News and BBC World (both subscription-free).
      Sky News 11.597 V 22.0 5/6
      BBC World 12.285 V 27.5 3/4










      From the Installer menu…
      ‘Services 401 Select’

      Select 5
      Press Select… on sky remote






      Select… Find Channels

      Press Select… on sky remote








      Press Select… on sky remote






      Press Yellow Button on sky remote to add channels
      You may as well add all available







      Press Select… on sky remote






      Press Select… on sky remote


      Some Freeview channels should be available

      You may also add channels by….


      Again from the Services menu.

      "Other Channels" option available
      Last edited by rphirst; 22-11-11 at 04:45 PM. Reason: I did have pictures of the tv to show exactly what you should see

    11. #10
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Frequencies

      You shouldnt change the default transponder, its the frequency the box first looks at and gathers the EPG data from. You will have only partial epg data if you aren't using the correct default transponder. You dont need to change the default transponder in order to add the channels that arent part of the Sky EPG.

      You don't need to tune in the Sky box, everytime it reboots it gathers in the data which tell it what channels are on which frequencies.
      There is no p in Thomson.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION