Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky Box Office not working.

    This is a discussion on Sky Box Office not working. within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Sorry if this problem has already been posted, I took a look but couldn't see anything. Whenever I try ...

    1. #1
      alleykat's Avatar
      alleykat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Box Office not working.

      Hi,

      Sorry if this problem has already been posted, I took a look but couldn't see anything.

      Whenever I try to get a movie on Sky Box Office it pops up and says 'Ensure that an operating telephone line is connected'. Thing is there *is* an operating telephone line connected. I can connect to Sky Active, etc. just fine. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I'm really reluctant to have to call Sky.

      Kat


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      1) Press services on your remote

      2) Press 4) System Setup

      3) Press 7) System Test

      Does it pass the Telephone test? And say 'Telephone line connected' or other words?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Jaiyan's Avatar
      Jaiyan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      I am having exactly the same problem as Alleykat:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky/2...mms-issue.html

      In summary, my Sky card was activated by Sky Tech support down the line when it was installed a few months ago, and I entered a competition via Sky Text which dialled out fine; so I know the line works fine and the Sky box can send and receive line data. It is solely Box Office that's having difficulties.
      As an update I have tried removing all telephones and routers from all sockets in the property in case of some bizarre interference, but that didn't help either.

      For interest, when I do the line test it does indeed say "Telephone Line Connected".

      The only thing I can potentially think of is that I am in an appartment complex. It's probably unrelated, but I'm clutching at straws here.

      Alleykat, are you having the same symptoms as me? Are you in a house or flat?
      It's a bit of a relief that I'm not the only one having this issue, but obviously it doesn't get it sorted any quicker.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      I can't think what is wrong, but why not ring Sky and check that the card is properly paired with the box. I know this defies logic as your comp entry suggests it must be, but I cannot think of anything else.

    6. #5
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      If your box misses 3 callbacks, 3 months in a row, your box office credit limit is revoked, you have to ring up and get them to do a manual callback to unblock this.

      Or indeed your box/card is faulty
      Last edited by BuckleZ; 11-10-08 at 06:46 PM.
      BT Infinity

    7. #6
      Jaiyan's Avatar
      Jaiyan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      Thanks guys. I'm reluctant to call Sky technical support as I don't want to spend an hour going through checks I've already done, but it looks like it might be that way

      It does seem weird though. It sounds like somehow my Box Office account has been blocked perhaps, although I've only had Sky for 6 weeks and have had the box connected the whole time.

      I'll give them a call I think

    8. #7
      Jaiyan's Avatar
      Jaiyan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      I have a response from a very friendly lady on Sky Tech Support. In fact, it was only a 20 minute call and I only had to repeat myself twice that Sky Active was dialling out fine - not bad for a support line

      I was told that the Box Office service is only enabled after 2 months of Sky service (used to be 3 months apparently). I have a credit limit setup no problem, and everything else looks fine, so it's likely because I've only been with Sky 6 weeks.

      Has anyone seen this information posted anywhere? I must admit I've been on the site a fair bit but haven't seen this stated anywhere.

      Hopefully that sorts AlleyKat's problem too!

    9. #8
      alleykat's Avatar
      alleykat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box Office not working.

      Thanks for the responses. I tried all the suggestions and eventually gave up and called Sky, had to explain about 3 times that Sky Box Office wasn't working and yet I was still able to use Sky Active, etc. He said that there had only been one callback performed on my box (I've had it since June) and he'd do a manual callback? And to wait 24 hours before trying again.

      A

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION