Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Phone Filters

    This is a discussion on Phone Filters within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Do Sky Engineers carry phone filters? We'll need a couple for two Sky+ Boxes, and was just wondering if he'll ...

    1. #1
      Richy23's Avatar
      Richy23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Phone Filters

      Do Sky Engineers carry phone filters? We'll need a couple for two Sky+ Boxes, and was just wondering if he'll have any or if we need to get them in advance?

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Phone Filters

      Normally they just bung their adaptor onto the line and not worry about filters. Are you on adsl now?

    4. #3
      Richy23's Avatar
      Richy23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Filters

      That acts as phone filters then yeah? Thanks! I don't know what type of broadband we have, is ADSL the normal type of broadband?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Phone Filters

      Erm no the adaptors the sky tv guys install are just adaptors not filters. If you have BB via telephone line you have adsl and will require the sky engineer to plug the sky tv splitter/ adaptor into the filter that should be on the line already if you have adsl.

    6. #5
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Phone Filters

      Sky engineers DO carry filters for BBand installs.If it's only the TV service you are getting fitted then you will have to provide your own.The filters they carry are part of the Sky BBand installation package.The phone adaptors they fit are just that,not filters.

    7. #6
      Richy23's Avatar
      Richy23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Filters

      Cheers Spike - We're only having TV installed so I'll make sure we have a couple for when he gets here! Thanks again!

    8. #7
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Phone Filters

      You're welcome.
      Just a thought,if both boxes have seperate phone extension connected into the same CTE/NTE master socket (not a hard wired,thru-the-walls job) then you should be able to get away with the one filter into which the Sky+ box's plug into.
      I'd hold off until the install & ask him,normally he should have a gash few on the van (I did) so bung him a few quid for a couple if you need any.
      Spike

    9. #8
      Richy23's Avatar
      Richy23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Filters

      OK Cool - Cheers for the help and answers today!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION