Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Installation - Cabling Query

    This is a discussion on Sky Installation - Cabling Query within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hey, I've recently decided to join Sky, and it due to be installed on Friday. I have a quick question ...

    1. #1
      Turv's Avatar
      Turv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      Hey, I've recently decided to join Sky, and it due to be installed on Friday.

      I have a quick question in regards to the Installation, I do not want all cables going all around the house from the TV to the BT Phone socket, and since i'm also having a box installed in the bedroom i do not want cables going from the bedroom, all the way downstairs.

      So - Is it possible to have the cables going around the outside of the house opoosed to going right through the house (Quite a direct route from outside as the BT Phone socket is right by the entrance.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      Only if you pay an extra installation charge as this would be considered non-standard.

      You'd be better to put the external telephone extensions in yourself.

    4. #3
      Turv's Avatar
      Turv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      What exactly is the process of installation, as i assume they would need to drill some holes to get the cables from the dish to the box too?

      How much is the extra installation charge as i was not aware there was any form of non-standard installation. I was simply told there is a 30 installation charge

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      yes the drill holes for the CT100 satelite cable.

      As for the phone, they just just a standard phone cable. If it's not long enough to reach the phone socket, then a standard internal extension will be used.

      Anything else would be classed as non-standard and chargeable. Cost depends on the work involved (and the nature of the installer). Keep the installer sweet with tea/coffee and you may get lucky.

      However I doubt the installers carry external grade phone cable with them.

    6. #5
      Edwars1's Avatar
      Edwars1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161 429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Stockport, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      I'm also curious about this as I have my phone line enter the house upstairs and my box will be in the front room (being installed on friday also).

      Would they be ok with just installing it and letting me arrange for an extra telephone extension to be put in later or should I just buy a long phone cable to connect it up via a cable running up the stairs temporarily.

    7. #6
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      It has to be connected to the phone line from day one unless you pay 25 extra (and don't have multiroom).

    8. #7
      Edwars1's Avatar
      Edwars1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161 429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Stockport, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      Just to follow up on this. The engineer gladly ran the cable outside my house for the phone line and did a very neat job.

      They do have a roll of external grade cable it seems.

    9. #8
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      My father "was" joing sky for the TV , he also didnot want the cables around the house , my dad has got free view in front room and 2 bedroom he cables these himself but when sky came to fit HD the engineer told him he cannot cable anywhere other than the outside of the house , he would also not leave the cable for my dad to run himself (where the free view cables are) and had to purchase himself then the engineer would come back and do the rest . he canceled in the end and we fitted a freesat dish .

    10. #9
      Sky Van Man's Avatar
      Sky Van Man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      The Sky guys do carry telephone cable for the outside of the house for times like this

      Some times it is the preference to do this to give them less work, there is nothing worse than having to install all through the house, and no matter how good a job is done, it can be messy

    11. #10
      chris_smith's Avatar
      chris_smith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky+ BB & Line rental
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Installation - Cabling Query

      Hi

      just a further question on from this, I am having Sky+ and BB with the Sky Line Rental. Currenlt my house is being renovated and so internal cabling is not an issue all the cable runs are exposed and easily accessable.

      At the moment we will have SKY upstairs whilst we work on the rooms downstairs.

      The Phone line is in the hall downstairs.

      Firstly what cabling would need to be put in by the engineer (we already have freeview wired in)?

      Secondly would the engineer be able to leave extra cable so that I can run it downstairs when we are ready to move the sky box?

      Finally, Do we have to call sky when moving a box as to do this I would have to disconnect it from the phone line?

      Regards
      Last edited by chris_smith; 03-02-11 at 01:51 PM. Reason: spelling error

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION