Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

    This is a discussion on Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi There, Does anybody here have a standard Sky box linked with an AV receiver for surround sound system? I ...

    1. #1
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Hi There,

      Does anybody here have a standard Sky box linked with an AV receiver for surround sound system?

      I know I can easily conect the audio-out from the back of the sky box with the AV receiver, but I wonder if there's a way to send the video also from the receiver (will save juggling with remote controls) considering the only video-out on the standard box is via scart.

      Any suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Whether you connect the video via the AV receiver isn't really the relevant point. You can connect the video direct to your TV and still use the AV remote to control the skybox.... if the AV remote supports it.

    4. #3
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      You could try a scart to RCA adaptor, this will give you red and white audio and a yellow video.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      I think this will do the job, won't it?

      SLX Gold Scart To 3 Phono, 26465HS/04

    7. #6
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Should do, make sure it's wired the right way tho', try to get one either with a switch for in/out or with 6 RCA's, 3 in and 3 out.

    8. #7
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      Should do, make sure it's wired the right way tho', try to get one either with a switch for in/out or with 6 RCA's, 3 in and 3 out.
      Ok .. that one has a switch on the side of the Scart plug (according to the picture)

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      rominho - can i just ask, what are you trying to achieve by putting the video thru the AV receiver?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Using your link you will probably have to also buy RCA connectors or get one with female connectors. The video sender will have male plugs, if it is the same as mine. If you are just feeding to surround sound, you don't need the video connection. You will only need this if you are feeding another TV.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Using your link you will probably have to also buy RCA connectors or get one with female connectors. The video sender will have male plugs, if it is the same as mine. If you are just feeding to surround sound, you don't need the video connection. You will only need this if you are feeding another TV.
      I think rominho just wants to leave the TV set to the front AV or whatever socket the AV amp is connected to and route all his source equipment through that so that the TV never changes input, the AV amp does, thus not needing the tv remote to change sources, just the AV amp and the sky remotes.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION