Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

    This is a discussion on Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; A few points: - the adapter in question will not be RGB and thus the pic quality will be worse ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      A few points:

      - the adapter in question will not be RGB and thus the pic quality will be worse
      - as scart is not beong used, the telly will no-longer do widescreen switching
      - The Sky remote can control the TV, the Sky Box AND the AMP if config'd correctly (without routing the video thru the amp).


      I really feel a re-think is needed here. That's just my opinion.
      I understand that the OP may not want the hassel of having to use the TV remote to switch AV inputs, but the Sky remote can do this (and poss the AV remote) without the need to degrade the video signal by putting it thru the amp.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rominho's Avatar
      rominho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      OK ... I ended up buying something more expensive and (supposedly) more effective:

      RGB Scart to YUV Component video converter:


      Now, in order to get it to work apparently I have to change some setting in the sky box. Does anybody know the procedure?
      Last edited by rominho; 26-09-08 at 12:54 AM.

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      I think my posts must be invisible.

      Good luck with it all, hope it works out for you.

    5. #14
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Setting up Sky with AV Receiver (surround sound system)

      Red - You can lead a horse to water but you cant make it drink


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION