Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Can you just get a subscription?

    This is a discussion on Can you just get a subscription? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I currently live with my parents and have a sky+ box in my room. The house has one subscription with ...

    1. #1
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can you just get a subscription?

      I currently live with my parents and have a sky+ box in my room. The house has one subscription with 3 boxes. Next week I move to a brand new flat which has a communal dish and I already have a box obviously so I want to know if I can just get a subscription since I will already have the box and dish.
      Any idea how long this will take to set up and anything else i need to know?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      the min sub comes with a free sky box and 12mths warranty. Take the free box and just re-pair the card if you really still want to use the old box.

      http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skyco...cesandpackages

    4. #3
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      The main reason that I want to keep the old box is that I dont want to have to pay 100 for another box when I already have one

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      ? and where is the 100 coming from?

    6. #5
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      It costs 99 for a new sky+ box.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      yeah so just go for a normal sky box as opposed to a sky+ that has FREE next to it in the link that i posted.

    8. #7
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      Would I then just be able to plug in my sky+ box and get all of the functionality that it gives you?

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      nope, as i said in my first response, you would then need to re-pair the card with your old box (which is just a phone call to sky).

      There is a set up fee (which Sky will charge you either way to set up an account regardless as to whether you have a box or just a sub).

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Can you just get a subscription?

      ps - are you sure your communal dish offers 2 inputs for sky+ functionality?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION