Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

    This is a discussion on Lost a few channels, Any advice plz within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello Yesterday I seem to have lost a a few channels - sci-fi chan & +1 and movies4men & +1.. ...

    1. #1
      SarahB's Avatar
      SarahB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Hello

      Yesterday I seem to have lost a a few channels - sci-fi chan & +1 and movies4men & +1.. the channels just now come up with .. no satellite signal being received .. yet all my other channels are fine (all movies,sky1,all the sports etc).

      Could anybody offer any advice on anything I can do? thankyou in advance.
      Last edited by SarahB; 07-08-08 at 03:44 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      have you turned it off and on again?

    4. #3
      SarahB's Avatar
      SarahB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Quote Originally Posted by skypaulusplus View Post
      have you turned it off and on again?
      Yep, & taken card out & put back in a few times.

      Still no joy today

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Hi Sarah

      Try ringing Sky, it may need a refresh of the rights on your card. Failing that, they can try to resolve or give you some advice, until someone comes up with a fix on here.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Sounds like the usual Grundig/Thomson power supply problem. Test your dish system with a known good Digibox.

    7. #6
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Quote Originally Posted by Sam Radford View Post
      Sounds like the usual Grundig/Thomson power supply problem. Test your dish system with a known good Digibox.
      I've had a similar problem with my Thomson digibox recently but lost a different set of channels. As I've got multiroom (my other digibox is a Pace), I'm going to swap the boxes around (when I've got a spare minute!) just to make sure it's definitely a faulty PSU on the Thomson.

      Sam, any idea why the Grundig/Thomson power supply problem manifests itself so differently for different people, i.e. why does it cause loss of Sci-Fi etc for SarahB and 12560H/12560V for me?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    8. #7
      SarahB's Avatar
      SarahB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Thankyou for the replys, Ill give sky a ring in the morning & post what they did to fix the problem.
      I maybe just need a new box as the problem 1 is quite old & my sky+ box in the upstairs room can pick up the channels ok, so fingers crossed its not the dish.

    9. #8
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Scifi and +1 moved transponders this week, you may be struggling to pick up the new frequency.

    10. #9
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Sam, any idea why the Grundig/Thomson power supply problem manifests itself so differently for different people
      Well, if your PC power supply started to generate a bit of internal electrical interference, what software would be affected and how would the problem manifest itself?

      I think there's over a dozen capacitors in the Thomson PSU. Suppose that a random 3 out of 12 start to fail. How many possible permutations are there? (Any mathematicians here?) I think the answer is hundreds - which means hundreds of possible symptoms might occur.

    11. #10
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,410
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Lost a few channels, Any advice plz

      Quote Originally Posted by Sam Radford View Post
      Well, if your PC power supply started to generate a bit of internal electrical interference, what software would be affected and how would the problem manifest itself?

      I think there's over a dozen capacitors in the Thomson PSU. Suppose that a random 3 out of 12 start to fail. How many possible permutations are there? (Any mathematicians here?) I think the answer is hundreds - which means hundreds of possible symptoms might occur.
      Thanks Sam, good explanation.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION