Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

    This is a discussion on Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi! Im new to this forum and was hoping you guys could help me with a problem i now have ...

    1. #1
      flex's Avatar
      flex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Hi!

      Im new to this forum and was hoping you guys could help me with a problem i now have after upgrading to a HD TV at the weekend (Panasonic TH-42PZ82). I have a couple of questions so bare with me.

      The picture quality from my sky digibox on my new HD TV is fairly poor, when the channel selection blue box is up the edges look very grainy and not as crisp as they should be. The TV has freeview built in and when i compare the picture on the same channel (such as bbc1) with it looks a lot crisper on the freeview.

      Im sure the quality should be better and i am going to invest in some better scart leads as the ones im using at the mo are probably a bit cheap. Ive been reading about something called scart RGB which should provide the best picture via SCART, i understand for this i need a full 21 pin wired scart lead, so my first question is this:

      How do i enable this RGB mode on my sky digibox and will it support this. Its a black Pace digibox about 5 years+ old. (Will get the full model no later tonight when im at home.)

      My second question is will i get a better picture by purchasing a more up to date sky digibox?

      My dad is going to lend me a sky+ box he is no longer using at the weekend. Do you think this will improve my picture quality, and will i still be able to use it with my current card etc? will i loose the recording functionality of the box.


      Wow thats a lot of questions!! sorry guys. Any suggestions would be more than welcome! I am just trying to get the best SD picture from my sky i can as im not paying for the HD subscription until it comes down in price and there are more channels worth watching and my PS3 is serving my HD needs at the mo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Thats the nature of the SD display of the standard box m8, and I have a V3 Sky+ box and the quality is also crap on my HDTV too, as for your dad loaning you a sky+ box, you do relise that a standard box only has 1 cable from a single LNB on the dish, a Sky+ and SkyHD require 2 from a dual LNB on the dish, so a direct swapout isn't as easy as you thought, and if you do get the dish upgraded to dual LNB you have to phone Sky to have your existing card paired to the new box
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      I'm sure there are some settings you can change in the services and set up on the sky box, see if changing from RGB to ??? helps (of the top of my head cannot remember what it is, but will have a look when i get home)

    5. #4
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Quote Originally Posted by flex View Post
      I have a couple of questions so bare with me.
      What would you like us to take off first?

      see if changing from RGB to PAL helps
      In theory PAL (actually composite) should produce a worse picture than RGB.

      To get a decent picture on a HD TV, obviously you need a Sky-HD Digibox. Anything else is a compromise.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Quote Originally Posted by TRIaXOR™ View Post
      a Sky+ and SkyHD require 2 from a dual LNB on the dish, so a direct swapout isn't as easy as you thought, and if you do get the dish upgraded to dual LNB you have to phone Sky to have your existing card paired to the new box
      A + box will work on 1 lnb feed, you wont be able to use the functionality of + tho, you will however need to phone sky to pair the box and viewing card. An HD box is the pricey answer as sam says.


    7. #6
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      An HD box is the pricey answer as sam says.

      lol, Hence why I dont have one.. but I did hear they may be dropping in price soon from a mate who works at one of the call centres that Sky use..

      lets hope its true
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    8. #7
      flex's Avatar
      flex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      I'm sure there are some settings you can change in the services and set up on the sky box, see if changing from RGB to ??? helps (of the top of my head cannot remember what it is, but will have a look when i get home)
      Changed the setting from PAL to RGB! Loads better picture is a lot sharper now. Thanks a lot!!

    9. #8
      garyhopkin's Avatar
      garyhopkin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      ive just bought a 42" vistron from ebuyer (lg panel,so not super crap quality),and suffering from major artefacts now with my amstrad box.

      image quality is fine on my media center dvi ti hdmi...sky+ via scart is horrendous though,anyone have any ideas(i tried it via s-video,there is no artefacting but wavy lines across the screen...fixes one problem and creates another)

      sorry to hijack your thread,but you look fixed now.i have also tried the pal/rgb switching.rgb is slightly sharper but artefacting still remains intermittantly more often than not.

    10. #9
      snakehollywood's Avatar
      snakehollywood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      If I get a sky HD box, will this give improved pciture quality on ALL channels or only the HD channels ?

    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Digibox and New HD TV - Picture is poor

      Quote Originally Posted by garyhopkin View Post
      ive just bought a 42" vistron from ebuyer (lg panel,so not super crap quality),and suffering from major artefacts now with my amstrad box.

      image quality is fine on my media center dvi ti hdmi...sky+ via scart is horrendous though,anyone have any ideas(i tried it via s-video,there is no artefacting but wavy lines across the screen...fixes one problem and creates another)

      sorry to hijack your thread,but you look fixed now.i have also tried the pal/rgb switching.rgb is slightly sharper but artefacting still remains intermittantly more often than not.
      Unplug everything except the sky box, it sounds like you have other sources bleeding over the picture.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION